Bittersweet.


Again I’ve neglected this poor blog awhile until I have something going on, but here I am again!

Tonight I’m not sad but I’m not happy either. Tonight marks the series finale of one of my favorite shows, of a show that’s kept me smiling and laughing and falling in love with the characters for years, tonight Parks and Rec, the Pawnee, Indiana Parks department is leaving me. It’s time to say goodbye to Leslie, who taught me it was okay and encouraged to be weird and passionate about things you love and care about, to Ben, who is the closest version of myself I’ve ever seen in a fictional platform – the nerd who geeks out about TV shows and Batman suits but who everyone loves and who found his soul-mate who thinks he’s the best. To Andy, the dork who is more like an exuberant puppy than anything else but who loves so fiercely and so loyally he’d do anything for his wife.  To April, who has a tough exterior but cares inside and is passionate and who won’t give up on her dreams. To Tom and Donna, who know how to treat themselves when it’s needed but to stay on track and do what needs to be done. To Ron, one of a kind, meat loving, no-nonsense Ron Swanson. To the entire department, that while they may be fictional, have meant as much to me as many of my dear friends and who have taught me just as much.

I’m also feeling bittersweet because this week marks two of my good friends moving away, out of Kansas. One to California, to be with her girlfriend and I am so, so happy for her, this is a great opportunity but I’ll miss the times and laughter we’ve shared. The other friend, to D.C., again this is a great opportunity for him and one that’ll take him closer to his dreams and give him more career paths to choose from. This week marks saying goodbye to them as well. I’m rotten at goodbyes, and change, even when they’ll inevitably be for the better.

I’m not sad completely, but goodbyes to people and to TV shows are hard.

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

3 responses to “Bittersweet.”

  1. funandtech says :

    Maybe you can introduce me to Parks and Rec since I haven’t seen it, hee hee. I too am sad and am going to miss our California bound friend. :'(

Leave a Reply

