The Future.. is here?


I’ve been worried about the future for.. a long time. I don’t like change, I don’t like when all of the plans are not completely up to me and I can’t fully control everything that’s happening.

That being said, graduating and becoming a real adult and everything is a terrifying prospect and one that when questioned about, I usually try and avoid answering and brush it off because I don’t like to think about it.

Obviously, since I’m graduating in less than a year, I have checked into some things, at the beginning of the summer I had looked into an internship with the local police department, I’d sent in all my information, had my advisor send a letter of recommendation and then didn’t hear back for two months. I sorta gave up then, kind of dejected but used to the rejection but also worried about what is going to happen in May. I want to be an officer here and without that internship, it probably won’t happen and though I could probably find a law enforcement job elsewhere with little difficulty, this town is where my friends are and where my boyfriend will be back next year and honestly, I love this town, I’m not quite ready to leave it I don’t think.

Yesterday, I finally got an email back from the HR head who is in charge of internships explaining she had been unavoidably out of the office and apologizing and saying if I was still interested, I could set up an interview. I called immediately and she was unavailable but I received a call back from her today and have an interview set up on Friday at 10am.

HOLY CRAP. Ok, adult thoughts gone for a moment while I freak out from nerves and excitement. IF I GET THIS INTERNSHIP, IT’S ALMOST GUARANTEED I GET THE JOB!!! If I get this job, THIS IS THE JOB I’VE BEEN DREAMING OF SINCE I WAS 5!!!

Ok adult moment back – I’ve been wanting to be in law enforcement since I was 5 years old and if this works out, I have a major part of my future all planned out and taken care of.

I’m almost an adult for real and for the first time, it’s not a terrifying prospect.

Hope

Tags: , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

