A Discussion on Tattoos


Yesterday I finally brought up to my mom my desire for tattoos. She’s had suspicions I think that I’ve wanted tattoos but never quite known for sure and as it wasn’t relevant quite yet and I had not broached the subject with her, knowing that she would undoubtedly overreact, being my mother. I simply told her that within the next month I would be getting a tattoo and it will be on my arm where it can be covered up if necessary but can also be displayed when I want it to be.  The tattoo is a quote from John Green in my handwriting, “We need never be hopeless because we can never be irreparably broken.”

Now, I’ve thought about tattoos long and hard over the years and this is definitely not a decision I’ve jumped to without any thought. It’s important to me and is my decision, I’ve been saving up in preparation for this expense for over a year and while it does cost a lot it will be on my body forever.

Mom of course was horrified by the thought of me putting something on my body forever, much less in a place where it is apparent and tried to talk me out of it by pointing out when I’m old my skin will look awful with a tattoo there. I’m sorry but that’s a long time from now and in the meantime I’ll have all these years to enjoy it. When I’m old I hardly think my tattoo on my arm will be my main concern.

She also said “But on your wedding day! You won’t be able to cover it up then!” … Why would I want to? Let’s assume that I get married, it’ll probably be within the next 10-15 years probably, why would I want to cover up a tattoo that I’ve purposely put on my skin to show off to people? And by then I’ll have more than just the one… That’s the weirdest argument I’ve ever heard. Plus, if for some reason I did want to cover it up, there are ways to make that possible.

I just don’t understand why there’s so much judgement about tattoos, it’s my body, it’s not hurting anyone and this particular tattoo I’m getting, a quote from John Green is meant to encourage and remind me of what’s important and to keep me strong.

Sigh. All well, I’m just super excited to get my first tattoo soon!

Hope <3

Tags: , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “A Discussion on Tattoos”

  1. Lorrie says :

    Get tattoos!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Victoria-writes says :

    I love mine and want more, do what will make you happy!

Leave a Reply

