Why Valentines Day is Stupid


I hate Valentines Day. It’s the worst day of the year and here’s why.

It’s not just that I don’t believe in love and hate hearing about it but it’s also stupid for other reasons.

It’s an over-commercialized day that tricks consumers into thinking they need to buy ridiculous things they shouldn’t or sometimes can’t even afford just because it’s a day to celebrate love. If love did exist, shouldn’t it be celebrated more than just on a day when some random person it should be celebrated? I think it would mean more to people if their significant others went out of their way to show love on other days, not on a day the media has decided love should be celebrated.

Even if I was in a relationship I would still dislike the holiday and I will always refer to it as Singles Awareness Day (Much to the anger of my mother), that’s what it is. A day that possibly unintentionally but still does makes those who are alone feel more lonely and hopeless and those who are in relationships often feel like they have to do something just because they have to.

It’s stupid and should be stopped. If we could all just ignore Valentines Day I think life would be better.

As for me, I’m spending the day at work, in class and then hanging out with my friends. And hopefully watching an extremely violent movie with no romance at all. Great.

Hope

Tags: , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “Why Valentines Day is Stupid”

  1. Naomi says :

    Haha, I think Valentine’s is much cooler now that a friend told me it was Singleness Awareness Day. Single and proud! Definitely a day for action movies.

  2. ragamuffingospelfan says :

    I recommend one of the Die Hard movies, preferably either the first or second one. And I agree with everything you’ve said here.

Leave a Reply

