Why does Christmas suck this year?


Everyone I know, on the internet, in real life, everywhere has been complaining about feeling un-Christmassy this year and it’s true. I don’t know what’s wrong, I mean, for a while I just assumed it was me because with our family we haven’t had an even close to good Christmas since 2003 but hearing everyone else have a problem too, I’m confused. I don’t know what’s wrong.

So here it is, Christmas Eve, 5 pm. My family always opens our presents this night (Usually around 10 or so) after we drive around and look at Christmas lights. There’s usually a lot of fighting and arguing all the way through and then somewhere in the middle dad remembers that we haven’t read the Christmas story from Luke so we pause everything and do that. Then mom gets tired and mad and yells something about how we’ll just finish in the morning.

Honestly? I don’t care about presents, at all. Sure, it’s nice when someone finds something they know I’ll enjoy and gets it for me, but I don’t need anything right now and I don’t want anything really either. It’s just stuff, I’d rather have a nice time with people, time is what I care about. And I would in a heartbeat give up all my Christmas presents just to have a nice, fun time with my family where we all at least  acted like we liked each other. And more importantly, since when is Christmas about us anyways? It’s not. Christmas is (or should be..) about Christ, and His birth, FOR US. That’s the present we all need, the one that none of us deserved but that we all get because God loves us so much.

So why can’t we just take some time to think about that instead of fight?

Someday, maybe.

Happy Christmas everyone! Thanks for continuing to read my ups and downs and angst all the time, and I hope you all have a truly wonderful Christmas celebrating the true reason for the season! <3

Hope

Tags: ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

