I am full of irrational fears.


I was talking with a friend the other day about our fears and I realized something, none of my fears are rational. Literally, none of them, or normal for that matter, I’m not afraid of serial killers or of bugs or anything that most people are. Nope, not me, however, I am afraid of a lot of things. Such as:

Statues: Now, to any fan of Doctor Who this one is pretty natural but I am legitimately terrified that I’m going to run into a Weeping Angel and it will transport me to another time. MOFFAT.

Calling people: And here’s where they start to get strange. I’m terrified as in like paralyzingly so of calling people. Not talking on the phone, no, that I can do for hours (Which is good.. since my job calls for it) but calling people I can’t do. Not even friends. Actually, especially not friends for some reason, I’ve gotten to where I can call places and order food (And that step came like last month, yay, just before I turn 21, you should all be super proud) but calling people I know for some reason paralyzes me with fear. I will do almost anything to avoid calling people on the phone, much to the frustration of my family and friends.

Being naked: Yep, possibly too much information to share with strangers on the internet but I hate being naked. Some people hate wearing clothes and are always like “Wow, I wish I was home alone so I could take my clothes off”, not me, nope. I keep them on, always, I even get uncomfortable going to take a shower and taking my clothes off! Maybe I’m a never nude like on Arrested Development! Or maybe I’m just really modest… Whatever it is, I like to wear clothes all of the time.

Going to the bathroom: And here’s where it gets super strange. Yes, I’m afraid of going to the bathroom. Yes, I know everyone does it and it happens all the time but it scares me. Like not all the time does it scare me, but at like other people’s houses or if I’m in a group of people somewhere, I HATE going to the bathroom, I guess I just feel gross or embarrassed about it or something, I don’t know. I know it’s weird, I will literally wait til the last possible second before going to the bathroom when I’m around people and not like at my house or in my dorm or something. ESPECIALLY if I’m in a group of like all guys, I don’t know why, it’s weird, I need to get over it because sometimes people have to go and it’s unavoidable. I don’t know… Like I said, I know it’s super weird. There have even been cases where I’ve had to go at someone’s apartment or house and then held it until I left and then stopped at a gas station on the way home to go instead of going at their house. WHAT THE PANTS IS WRONG WITH ME. THIS IS NOT NORMAL.

So yeah, because you all needed more evidence of how I’m the weirdest person ever, have some of my weird fears. And enjoy laughing at them, because you should, they’re funny.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

2 responses to “I am full of irrational fears.”

  1. kford2007 says :

    You’re not weird. A lot of people feel uncomfortable going to the bathroom around their friends and stuff. I mean, what if you have to fart or something! OMG! :-) I personally hate doing that in a public bathroom. Like, I’ll wait until the people in the bathroom leave so they don’t have to see who made all that noise…like they care. We all do it, otherwise we’d explode from all the methane built up inside. Part of it’s your age and I think some of it comes from being girls. Guys fart and tease each other about blasting folks out of the bathroom. Girls are supposed to be dainty and not ‘smell’. Phht. We’re human. As for the naked thing, you’ll outgrow that when you get married and have kids. So will the bathroom thing. Modesty is a good thing. From a mom, keep your clothes on. LOL! The phone and statue thing…you may need to seek help if that continues to get worse. A lot of people are really shy and don’t like talking on the phone. Yours sounds like it’s a bit more deep-seated, like an OCD thing. Don’t know what to tell you about the statues. Try telling yourself they aren’t real. They aren’t going to swoop down and grab you. Maybe stop watching Dr. Who. :-) :-)

    We all have our quirks. That’s what makes us unique and who we are. If they are interfering in your daily activities, though, you may want to seek professional help. Just know you’re not the only one suffering from these phobias. That’s why there are names for them. Good luck in sorting it all out.

Leave a Reply

