The Angels Took Manhattan


“But what people don’t realize is that, when it comes to fictional characters, they are just as real to us as our friends or lovers or siblings or parents. It doesn’t matter that we can’t touch them or visit them or engage with them in conversation, what matters is that they’ve made an impact on our lives and that is what makes them real.”


This weekend’s episode of Doctor Who saw the final story for the Ponds, the return of the Weeping Angels and a time where Steven Moffat once again broke my heart. I went home this weekend with a friend and was therefore unable to watch the episode until last night instead of Saturday when it aired but it was worth the wait. While of course my heart is completely broken by the departure of the Ponds and who knows when I’ll be emotionally ok again, in my opinion it was a very well done episode. The Angels were terrifying as usual and from about the half-way point on, I was in tears which NEVER happens, especially not when I’m with people (Which I was). It was brilliant however as Moffat’s episodes always are and besides being emotional, confusing and terrifying, it was also witty and had moments where I laughed out loud. One such moment made me crack a smile but then immediately tear up again because of the Pond feels I was having, “I always wanted to visit the Statue of Liberty, I guess she got impatient.”
So yeah, I can’t even really write coherently right now because I’m still in recovery from that episode, all the emotions it brought and how like I recently wrote about I am going to miss Amy and Rory (And Karen and Arthur) so incredibly much. They’re forever seared on my heart.

“Hello old friend, and here we are. You and me, on the last page. By the time you read these words, Rory and I will be long gone. So know that we lived well, and we’re very happy. And above all else, know that we will love you, always. Sometimes I do worry about you, though. I think, once we’re gone, you won’t be coming back here for a while, and you might be alone, which you should never be. Don’t be alone, Doctor. And do one more thing for me. There’s a little girl waiting in a garden. She’s going to wait a long while, so she’s going to need a lot of hope. Go to her. Tell her a story. Tell her that if she’s patient, the days are coming that she’ll never forget. Tell her she’ll go to sea and fight pirates. She’ll fall in love with a man who’ll wait two thousand years to keep her safe. Tell her she’ll give hope to the greatest painter who ever lived, and save a whale in outer space. Tell her, this is the story of Amelia Pond. And this is how it ends.”
~ Amelia Jessica Pond – The Angels Take Manhattan

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

2 responses to “The Angels Took Manhattan”

  1. Victoria-writes says :

    It was a brilliant episode, I cried too!

Leave a Reply

