Hair


I was browsing through Tumblr earlier when I stumbled across this post:

I got a pixie cut on May 15th 2012. I don’t regret it at all. In fact, I’ve never felt more comfortable with myself.
However, as a girl with a pixie cut I always have other girls coming up to me and saying “Oh, I really want to do that too, but I never could.” I’m so sick of hearing this. People, mostly girls, are so caught up on how people see us and what image we are “supposed” to portray.
All I have to say is, if you want to cut your hair, cut it. If you don’t want to wear make up, don’t. If you don’t like dresses, don’t put one on. Do what you feel is right.

I completely agree with this person’s assessment! When I chopped off all my hair without a second thought back in December, all my guy friends were astounded, they were like “WHOA! I’ve never met another girl who didn’t care about her hair so much, who would just cut it off without being worried how it would look.” That is SAD. And stupid. It’s hair, it’ll grow back. So what if you get a bad haircut? It’ll grow and you can fix it. People will understand, and if they don’t, they don’t matter. Be adventurous, try something new, or don’t. Just don’t be afraid of doing what you want.
I don’t understand our society where people are afraid of doing harmless things that they want to do just because they’re worried about how others perceive them. Yeah, it might be somewhat scary at times but scary enough to stop them from doing it? Why? Other people don’t matter that much. Go for it, be yourself. :)

Tags: , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

One response to “Hair”

  1. gold account says :

    Wow, what a sad and awful link that was! I agree with Taylor–I took my husband’s thoughts on short hair into consideration, but in the end, it was my hair and my choice. I don’t pick his hairstyles and he doesn’t pick mine. I cut my hair into a pixie cut about 2 years ago and LOVED it! (And, surprise, my husband loved it, too–he thought it was sexy and gorgeous, but he was also just happy that I was happy! THAT’S a marriage . . . a man who supports you in trying something that makes you happy rather than demanding you stay exactly the same over time!) I think it’s such a fun, easy style and it was such an exciting thing to try. I had always had longish hair (at least past my chin, usually much longer), and I had always wanted to try a pixie. It was one of the best decisions I ever made, partly because I loved how it looked on me, but partly because it was a big, brave move for me to make and it gave me so much more confidence to try other new things! The person who asked this question should definitely go for it!

Leave a Reply

