We are Family


Today at church we had a really good message as always. We went over Romans 12 which is always a passage I enjoy and we talked about how as a church and as the Body of Christ we are completely a family and we need to love each other fully. No faking our love, no judging, forgiving when we need it and always supporting one another. We also talked about how in families there are messes, people make mistakes but you don’t kick them out of the family, you forgive and support them and help them learn from their mistakes and grow.
Romans 12 has a whole lot of really good insights that I enjoy and really need to continue putting into practice in my life. I figured since some stood out to me, I should just outline them here!

– Verses 3 – 5: Because of the privilege and authority God has given me, I give each of you this warning: Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us. Just as our bodies have many parts and each part has a special function, so it is with Christ’s body. We are many parts of one body, and we all belong to each other.

Isn’t that something to think about? “Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves.” I know I and a lot of others often either make ourselves out to be better or worse than we really are, but we shouldn’t do that. We need to be honest with ourselves and others and realize you know what, we’re all sinners, we all have faults. God is good and we need to represent that.

– Verse 9: Don’t just pretend to love others. Really love them. Hate what is wrong. Hold tightly to what is good.

Out of all of them, today this one probably stuck out the most, probably because I have struggled with fake love, I’ve seen how it hurts others and how it’s hurt me, people just pretending to be there but never really caring, and it sucks. I never want to be someone who just pretends to love. I’ve been in the opposite position to many times to let someone get hurt by me in that way.

– Verses 13 – 15: When God’s people are in need, be ready to help them. Always be eager to practice hospitality. Bless those who persecute you. Don’t curse them; pray that God will bless them.Be happy with those who are happy, and weep with those who weep.

Ah. As I’m going through this I just want to talk about almost every verse because they’re all so perfect. For real, this might be my favorite chapter of the Bible. I love this! Also be ready to help! Yes, we all are supposed to have that servant’s heart that Christ ALWAYS had. We have to. And when people are being mean or looking down on us for something we need to pray that God will bless them. We are supposed to love them. Definitely one of my weak points…

Ok. As far as verse dissection I’m done because it’s late and I need to finish this so I don’t die at work tomorrow. But basically, we just need to love people. Always. No matter what they’re doing to us. Also, we’re a family and we need to treat each other as such. As a real family, the kind you see in movies where people treat each other right, the way God intended loved ones to treat each other.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

2 responses to “We are Family”

  1. kford2007 says :

    Excellent post.

Leave a Reply

