I lead an awkward (yet entertaining) life


Ok, so I’m not sure how much I’ve talked about this on this blog but I am literally the most awkward person/the biggest nerd you will ever meet. The nerd part I’m assuming you all know but the awkward part, yeah, I’m that quirky, nerd girl sort of person that Zooey Deschanel plays on New Girl. Except I’m not on a TV show so my awkwardness is undoubtedly not charming or adorably quirky. Maybe my nerdiness is, I mean, I’ve had some friends tell me that it’s a compliment that I’m the biggest nerd they know and hey, I genuinely enjoy being a nerd. Like John Green has said and I’ve quoted so often, “…because nerds like us are allowed to be unironically enthusiastic about stuff… Nerds are allowed to love stuff, like jump-up-and-down-in-the-chair-can’t-control-yourself love it. Hank, when people call people nerds, mostly what they’re saying is ‘you like stuff.’ Which is just not a good insult at all. Like, ‘you are too enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousness’.” Like really, I love it. But this awkwardness is getting out of hand.

Examples ~ At work in the past week I have:
Fell off my stool multiple times
Ran into 3 door frames
Tried to talk to people and words have not come out in the right order
Took a bite of banana right as someone came in
Got distracted and forgot what I needed to tell someone because they were an attractive male
Hit my name tag off my cardigan so it went flying away
Ran into 3 people
Tripped
Awkwardly blurted out how much I loved someones outfit
Hit a zit on my lip so it wouldn’t stop bleeding
Fangirled over the Avengers to my boss so much that I fell of my stool (again)
Played Pottermore at work and freaked out that I couldn’t get the gnomes out of the garden
Run face-first into a wall numerous times
Taken two Dr Pepper cans out of the recycling bin to keep for my Avengers can collection (They were Hawkeye and Black Widow! I needed them!)
Talked in a British accent to more than one person on the phones
Stood in a corner plugging my ears, humming and rocking back and forth to avoid The Dark Knight Rises spoilers

Odd Conversations that have occurred:
Me: *Finds picture of Snape with the caption: “Severus Snape, more complicated than the whole Twilight saga.”* “Wow, it’s so true. Course, my water bottle is also more complicated than Twilight…”
Coworker David: *Turns around* “I love —-
Me: *Glares at David*
David: –your hair.”
Me: “Oh David, I’m sorry! Thank you! I thought you were going to say you loved Twilight, hence the glare….”

Me at front desk at work: AH! THE PEOPLE AT COMIC-CON GOT TO WATCH 12 MINUTES OF THE HOBBIT! Why wasn’t I there?! *bangs head on desk*
Guy walks up to desk: Um, I was just coming over to read the board here..
Me: Oh, ok.
*5 minutes later*
Me: *Growls quietly*
Coworker Jenni: Did you just growl?
Me: Um… yes.. it was still about missing Comic Con.
Jenni: I’ll let it slide. I was just checking.

Me: (excitedly playing Pottermore): I GOT THE GNOMES OUT OF THE GARDEN!
Ben (My coworker): Oh thank goodness….

Me: *Freaks out over Superwhoavengerlock fanfiction* OH MY GOSH! THIS IS PERFECT!! SO MANY FEELS!!!!
Friend at work (Ben) laughs at me
*About an hour later*
Friend at work (Ben): You know, I don’t think I’ll ever find someone to marry. I’m just too weird, I’m a vegetarian and I’m super healthy about what I eat. I won’t find someone like that.
Other friend at work (Chelsea): Aw, Ben, that’s ok. I’m sure you’ll find someone
Me: Yeah… you know, I’m pretty weird too… I have a ton of weird things about me.. I worry about the same thing.
Ben: Yeah… you know, you’re way weirder than me actually. With all your fandoms and Tumblr and everything. You should probably me more worried than me…
Me: *Sighs* I know…

So yeah… I might’ve had a point other than entertaining you all by telling you all these weird stories but I can’t remember what that was now. But hopefully this was an entertaining recount of my work adventures at any rate. Also, as weird and awkward as I am, I regret nothing. I am who I am. Like it or not. :)

Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

