Our Culture Is Weird


There used to be a time, mostly in high school where I wouldn’t even go get the mail down the street without wearing makeup and having perfectly straightened hair. I wouldn’t allow even my family when possible to see me otherwise, I wouldn’t even participate usually in my all church camp “No Make-Up Day” each year. I was to self-conscious, too worried that my natural look would be unacceptable or weird-looking or I’m not even entirely sure what. Anyways, the summer after senior year that changed thanks to my friend Dalton and some long talks I had with God making me realize God created me how He wants me and though there’s nothing wrong with makeup, there is something wrong with the mentality our culture has today that we all have to look perfect all the time.

It’s sad really, and I know I’ve written more than once about this topic but our culture makes me sad. What happened to embracing natural beauty? I know I lived for years thinking my natural hair texture was too weird to be seen but last summer when my hair was shoulder length I one day decided to go with it natural and everyone including myself loved it. Not to mention how much time it saved not straightening it every day (and how thankful my hair probably was to not have so much heat on it every day…). I love seeing people look natural, I think they’re beautiful to look at and I think it’s truly awesome when people are comfortable in their own skin like that.

This isn’t all to say that there’s something wrong with trying and looking your best because there’s not, at all. I mean, I wear dresses literally every single day when it’s nice outside and I make it a point to live by the quote “Dress to impress”, I always try to look my best clothing wise, so I look professional, clean and well, let’s face it, I like to look cute as often as possible. I think it’s important to make a good impression on people and not be sloppily dressed but I don’t think it should take people forever getting ready each morning. I’m usually in and out of the shower and ready to go within 20 minutes (Don’t worry, I know that’s fast, I’m not saying people shouldn’t spend more time than that either). I think if more people were happy with how they looked naturally, without layers of makeup and doing who knows what to their hair each morning, people would probably be a lot happier.

I don’t really know why I was thinking of all this today, something popped up I supposed but I decided to do myself up with makeup on half of my face and leave the other natural. Overall, not to sound vain or anything, while I can definitely see a difference I don’t really think one necessarily looks better than the other. I say, embrace who you are and other people will too. Rock what God gave you, ladies. He made every single person beautiful, no matter how different we all are.

“If you’re comfortable with yourself, then it’s sexy. Maybe people think I look sexy because I feel sexy. I am a very liberated person that way. I’m very comfortable with my sexuality, my body, my face – well, sometimes I’m not comfortable with my face, but it’s stuck there and there’s nothing I can do about it.” ~ Scarlett Johansson

Hope ♥


Tags: , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “Our Culture Is Weird”

  1. Leelee says :

    That is an awesome quote. I agree with you, Hope. It is weird that people are afraid to show their natural beauty- the beauty that God created them with and gave them as a gift.

  2. Hudson says :

    I’m going to hazard a guess and say that capitalism is what’s brought about the demise of ‘natural beauty’ as you call it. I suppose the quote has some truth to it even if Johansson is where she is today. I try to look my best for the most part (not everyone does!). Also, how is 20 minutes a short shower?

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      Oh no, 20 minutes isn’t a short shower, 20 minutes is how long it takes me to wake up and be ready to go out the door. Including breakfast. Sorry I didn’t make that clearer. :)

Leave a Reply

