I want to be a fan of God.


The other day, I was watching a Francis Chan sermon on YouTube. For any of you who don’t know, Francis Chan is a pastor, speaker and author who is absolutely incredible and has some absolutely outstanding insights! His book Crazy Love I am currently reading and has been absolutely life changing.

Anyways, I was watching one of his sermons – “What to Do When God Doesn’t Listen” and was really struck by something he said, he talked about how being a Christian is basically being a fan of God, and when you’re a fan of something (He used NASCAR as the example), you know everything about that thing, and are really passionate about it and talk about it all the time. Obviously this resonated with me since I am a huge fangirl of Doctor Who, The Avengers, Harry Potter and countless other things that in the scheme of things, don’t really matter, and he’s right! I know so many countless, useless facts about all my fandoms and am truly a fan, everyone knows within like an hour of knowing me all the fandoms that I obsess over, and I try to make sure they know I’m a Christian too, and even more so I try to live in a Christian way so they can see my beliefs through my actions but how often does that happen? When people think of things I’m a fan of, do they think of me being a fan of God? Or being a fan of the Avengers, Loki and Tom Hiddleston? I’m a little bit afraid of the answer, honestly. I mean, I know that all my friends know about my faith, and even people I’ve known for a little while that I don’t know well know that too. But I think that should be the first thing people know about me, that I’m a fan of God.

So, that’s what I plan on working towards now, being a fan of God, Him being the number 1 thing in my life, as He always should be.

Tags: , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “I want to be a fan of God.”

  1. Matthew Tapp says :

    Ya know, growing up, I have heard a lot of sermons that would challenge the idea of being a “fan” of God. Often that is all people ever are; just mere fans. But I like your post because you have a different perspective on the idea of being a fan. We put so much effort into learning about and following our other interests, but if we channeled some of that same fan faith into following Christ, it would make a world of difference!

Leave a Reply

