Fictional Characters are my life


This summer I’m finally getting back into a habit that I sorely miss during the school year, reading. I’ve often talked here about how reading gives me magical, miraculous feelings that no other activity has ever given me. There are a lot of other activities that I enjoy, writing, watching movies/tv, hanging out with friends, listening to music and other things but despite the joy I get out of all of those, nothing feels like true magic like reading does. Yeah, you can enter fictional worlds through TV and movies but with reading, you actually feel like you’re in the worlds, as one of the characters even, experiencing every emotion and adventure that they feel. With books you meet new characters, you become a new person with each new story you read and you can learn an endless about from it. In the past week, I’ve had the pleasure of reading 4 novels and I’m well on my way to being done with another, with 15 more on reserve at the library. I’m quite excited to get back into the world of reading this summer because due to classes, work and time with friends during school, I hardly ever get the chance and I miss it.

“You know what’s sad about reading books? It’s that you fall in love with the characters. They grow on you. And as you read, you start to feel what they feel – all of them – you become them. And when you’re done, you’re never the same. Sure you’re still you, you look the same, talk in the same manner, but something in you has changed. Something in the way you think, the way you choose, sometimes, even the things you say may differ. But it all comes down to the state you go to after a nice novel. The after-feeling. It’s amazing, but somehow, you feel left alone by that world you were once in. It’s overwhelming. But it makes you sad. Cause for once you were this, this otherworldly being in… Neverwhere, and then you suddenly have to say goodbye after a few weeks from when you read the last page. When you’ve recovered from that state it’s just… quite sad.” ~ Suzanne Collins (Author of the Hunger Games)

I found the above quote from Suzanne Collins last night and was amazed and overwhelmed with emotion, this quote has finally put into words all the feelings I’ve had about reading and about fictional characters that I have had for years. Since the first book I fell in love with. Each and every character I’ve loved, every book world I’ve entered has changed me a little bit, I’ve learned more, I’ve felt more, I’ve loved more from each book I’ve read. And though it can be heartbreaking to finish a story like that, to leave those beloved characters, it’s brilliant, it truly is magical. And the best part? You can re-enter those worlds any time you choose.

Hope ♥

Tags: , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “Fictional Characters are my life”

  1. Victoria-writes says :

    I agree – I love that magic when you fall in love with characters. Enjoy your reading!

  2. slytherpuffclawkim says :

    Okay I would have sworn on fish fingers and custard that I commented on this blog post but apparently not… But I really love that quote and actually it is on my wall and I just agree with all of this!

Leave a Reply

