Jesus Sought Me When a Stranger


Come Thou Fount is a super well known hymn and is without a doubt one of my all time favorite songs. It seems like for each situation in my life, I can always apply at least one of the lines to my life and it touches me and always draws me closer to God.

As I was listening to this song the other day, as I often do, I was particularly struck with the lyrics, “Jesus sought me when a stranger”, now, normally when I listen to it, the phrases “Prone to wander, Lord I feel it, prone to leave the God I love” or “Take my heart, Lord, take and seal it, seal it for thy courts above” are usually the lines that stick out but this time I was struck with wonder and awe at the thought that Jesus sought me. That means He took time to find me, to woo me and to beg for my attention, all because He thinks I’m important enough to have His attention. I know I’ve posted similar things before but it never fails to just blow my mind how the Creator of the entire universe thinks I’m worthy of attention, it means the world to me to know that and I feel so blessed to know that He thinks that highly of me, of all of us!

Many different people through the years have done covers of this song of course, in churches and for the radio or concerts, though I love them all of course, my personal favorite is the cover by Mumford & Sons. Enjoy!

On an unrelated note: My laptop just got back and it’s fixed and I’ve never been so excited! I feel like I had a long-lost child who ran away and just got back! :D

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

