Laptop Problems


I didn’t end up posting anything on Monday, even though I had every intention of doing so. Why is that, you ask? (Well… probably not.. but I like to think someone was curious!) That would be because Sunday night, I was just minding my own business, on Facebook and Tumblr, listening to some You Me at Six just sitting around, when out of nowhere my laptop screen went black. Naturally I tried turning it off and back on again, using several different methods, plugged in without the batter, plugged in with the batter, not plugged in with the battery, nothing would work. At this point, it was about 10 in the evening so it was really too late to call anyone about it. Looking at my warranty for the computer, I was pleased to see that I still had one more day of it left (What a convenient time to break, eh?) so I went to bed, upset but not to worried about it.

Monday I got up, went to work as usual and as soon as work was finished, I biked the mile and a half down to Staples where I had bought the laptop, two years ago to the day. The person at the customer service desk was extremely helpful and kind and told me that since I had the 2 year warranty and it was exactly 2 years ago that I bought it, I should still be fine, that this would be the last day I was covered but that all I needed to do was go online and file a claim. “Easy enough”, I thought as I thanked the girl and biked my way back to our campus library. Once I was online again, and tried to fill out the claim, the automated system claimed that I was no longer covered and my warranty had already expired. Now getting a bit worried, I called Staples and explained the situation. At this point I talked with the manager who told me to call the 1-800 number for Staples and that if I explained it to a human instead of a machine, I should still be fine. Slightly comforted, I called the number he gave me where the person (Who sounded like they were in India or somewhere nowhere near where I am) told me that because it was the 2 year anniversary of me buying it, to the day, my warranty was already expired. Now feeling extremely disheartened, I called the local Staples once more where they told me I should bring it back to them and they would check it out.

When I got there, the manager was as upset as I was that they weren’t accepting my warranty and told me that even if it was the next day, one day shouldn’t make a difference on my warranty, especially considering that it had actually broken before the warranty expired. The manager looked at it a bit and told me unfortunately he couldn’t tell what was wrong but he would make some calls and try to get them to cover it with my warranty.

A bit discouraged, I biked back home and waited for almost 24 hours to hear back from him. All day yesterday at work I tried not to think too much about it and just trust that God had everything under control. About 7pm last night after work, I finally got a call back from the manager who told me he had spoken with someone and gave me an incident number then told me to call the 800 number once more. When I called them and gave them the incident number, the man I spoke with was very helpful and after trying to troubleshoot some things (unsuccessfully) and then taking down all my information, he promised to send a box that I would put my laptop and all it’s accessories in then ship it back to Staples where they would either fix it or send me a gift card to buy a new one. So, that’s where I’m at currently, waiting for the box to ship my baby away to Staples to be fixed.

I definitely miss my laptop but fortunately I have a computer I can use anytime I’m at work and my roommate is letting me use her desktop while my computer is being fixed. Hopefully it won’t take too long!
Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

6 responses to “Laptop Problems”

  1. mattjschell says :

    Glad that your laptop is getting fixed. I truly believe that God takes care of us and that we just have to leave our worries to him.

  2. tiallarising says :

    Oh, computer problems are the worst… I hope it all gets cleared up soon! :)

    -Tia

  3. Hudson Gay says :

    Good to hear it worked out for you! Luckily, I shall not succumb to the curse associated with our floor and laptops.

Leave a Reply

