Sometimes I Get Too Emotionally Attached to Fictional Characters


Ok, so by now I’m sure it is quite apparent to all of you, my lovely readers that I am quite into fiction and fantasy. Along with that sometimes comes deep feelings and love towards different fictional characters, some of these I’ve mentioned before, my love of Harry Potter, Severus Snape, the Doctor and many other characters that I’ve known and loved for years through books, movies and TV shows. I know it sounds pathetic but the stories these characters come from are so well written and believable that often times one has real feelings and emotions towards the characters where it’s possible to love and empathize with them. To people who haven’t experienced these emotions for a fictional character it probably seems very silly but honestly, though it’s sometimes quite trying emotionally, it’s one of the best things there is, being able to love characters and get to know them, even if they don’t really exist. I will possibly concede though that sometimes my feelings towards these characters can be quite intense and at times I get to know so much about them, especially if they are a tragic character that I can feel extremely sad and attached to said characters.
Currently the character I’m having such feelings about is Loki, the God of Mischief, most recently seen in the movies Thor and the Avengers. For those of you who’ve seen these movies (And for any of you who haven’t you might want to skip this because there are spoilers ahead!), especially in Thor, you can tell that Loki is really just hurting. Yes, he is the villain, yes he is wanting to cause terrible destruction but if you look deeper into his thoughts and actions, you can tell that really he just wants to be accepted by Odin and loved. He mentions these feelings a little bit several times in Thor. Once when he’s talking to Odin and finds out that he was adopted, that he’s actually a Laufeyson, a frost giant, not originally from Asgard, he says, quite emotionally, “Because as much as you claim to love me you could never have a Frost Giant sitting on the throne of Asgard.” How sad is that? He says, truthfully that basically Odin doesn’t love him as he claims because he’s just an adopted child. Odin has never truly acted like Loki was as good as Thor and I honestly believe that’s why Loki turns bad. Loki also says, possibly in the same scene even, when he finds out that he’s a frost giant, something about how he’s the monster people tell their children about, this is the line that truly breaks my heart for Loki, because he realizes in this moment that he’s truly a frost giant, and frost giants have been considered monsters by the Asgardians for years, for possibly all time. Another part in the movie, Thor asks Loki, “Why have you done this?”, Loki’s response is quite telling in showing that all he wants is his father’s approval, he wants to be good enough for Odin which is proven when he answers. “I wanted to prove to father that I am a worthy son.” Doesn’t that just break your heart? All the things Loki did, no matter how evil they were, he did them all just to prove that he could be as good as Thor, that he could be a warrior, a king, that he deserved to be loved as well.
There are so many other scenes and lines that convey these deeply emotional feelings that Loki has, that he just for once wants to be accepted but Odin just won’t. It’s really sad to me to think about, yes, I know, I realize it’s all fiction but there’s so much truth behind this feeling, there are so many people in our world who would do anything to feel loved and accepted by their parents. They just want to prove their worth, to be worthy of love. It breaks my heart, yes for Loki, the fictional character, but also for people who are really feeling that way.
I just have a lot of feels… Mostly Loki related as of late.
Hopefully you got something out of this though, and if you’re interested, this post I found on Tumblr is quite relevant to this topic as well: http://acciotardistohogwarts.tumblr.com/post/24294786867/vaniirox-sevendevil-s-you-can-delete-this
For other thoughts there are also these links here about my Loki feels: http://acciotardistohogwarts.tumblr.com/tagged/loki+feels

Loki Fanmix (For even more Loki Feels)
– How to Save a Life by the Fray
“Where did I go wrong? … Somewhere along in the bitterness.”
– Little Lion Man by Mumford & Sons
“Weep for yourself my man you’ll never be what is in your heart.”
– Boulevard of Broken Dreams by Green Day
“I’m walking down the line that divides me somewhere in my mind”
– Breath by Breaking Benjamin
“I will be the death of you.”
– Dance With The Devil by Breaking Benjamin
“Don’t you dare look at him in the eye.”
– Blood (Empty Promises) by Papa Roach
“I will forgive but I won’t forget.”
– E.T. by Katy Perry
“They don’t understand you.”
– From Now On We are Enemies by Fall Out Boy
“I only want what I can’t have.”
– Good Girls Go Bad by Cobra Starship
“I’m gonna make you lose control.”
– I Don’t Care by Fall Out Boy
“The best of us can find happiness in your misery”
– Monster by Skillet
“I hate what I’ve become, the dark has just begun.”
– I Hate Everything about You by Three Days Grace
“I hate everything about you. Why do I love you?”
– Prayer of the Refugee by Rise Against
” We have a place that we could call home, and a life no one could touch.”
– Running Up That Hill by Placebo

“So much hate for the ones we love? Tell me, we both matter, don’t we?”
– Dustbowl Dance by Mumford & Sons
” I’ve been kicked off my land at the age of sixteen,
And I have no idea where else my heart could have been,
I placed all my trust at the foot of this hill,
And now I am sure my heart can never be still,
So collect your courage and collect your horse,
And pray you never feel this same kind of remorse.
Seal my heart and break my pride,
I’ve nowhere to stand and now nowhere to hide,
Align my heart, my body, my mind,
To face what I’ve done and do my time.”
– I’m Not Okay (I Promise) by My Chemical Romance
” Well if you wanted honesty, that’s all you had to say.
I never want to let you down or have you go, it’s better off this way.”
– Animal I Have Become by Three Days Grace
“So what if you can see the darkest side of me, No one will ever change this animal I have become.”
– Poison by the Prodigy (Suggested by Tom Hiddleston as Loki’s theme)
“I got the poison, I got the remedy”
– I’ll Try by Jesse McCartney (Off of Peter Pan)

– Flawed Design by Stabilo (Completely perfect for Loki in every way)

“€˜Cause I lie Not because I want to But I seem to need to all the time”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

6 responses to “Sometimes I Get Too Emotionally Attached to Fictional Characters”

  1. tiallarising says :

    I totally agree. I really, really like Loki. He’s amazing, and yet, has such a tragic life. :( He’s hilarious, classic, and just epic all around.

    -Tia

  2. paperclip101 says :

    Loki is awesome. I haven’t seen Thor, but you should read Runemarks if you haven’t already ^.^

Leave a Reply

