Living Alone


Well, as of tomorrow I’ve done it, I’ve gone a week in my new apartment, working full-time, away from my parents and any form of rules or regulations actually (Well, I mean there are some at work of course but not where I’m living). It’s been an interesting week. Exhausting for sure, working 9 hours a day, answering phones for people who are not always thrilled with their situations isn’t exactly the most fun one can have but again, I am so blessed to even have a job, much less an awesome one where I can literally be on the computer doing whatever I want for my entire shift.
After work each day has been much less exciting. Since most people have left my college town for the summer, I’m afraid I’ve spent most of my nights this week like a hermit, sitting on Tumblr, watching various TV shows and trying not to kill myself with my lack of cooking skills. Tuesday night I did go with my roommate to see the Avengers and last night two of my friends from my dorm floor this past year, Jiayi and Josh and I hung out for a bit which was a welcome change. Also, as of yesterday, my roommate is gone for an entire month off at field school for her Anthropology major. This of course is a major change as it means that for an entire month, I’m completely living by myself which is not something I’ve ever come close to doing before, I’ve either been at home with my family or in my dorm, constantly surrounded by people. So, needless to say this is a huge change and is definitely testing my survival skills because I’m absolutely rubbish at cooking so for now I’m mostly just warming up things from the freezer like frozen pizza and fish sticks and eating sandwiches but in the long run I think it will be good for me. I mean, it’s important to have skills to live alone, even though I’m a huge people person and crave being with people all the time, it is good to be by oneself at times and these are probably skills that will come in handy later in life. Especially learning how to prepare food. That tends to be important.
Another interesting thing has been that I don’t have a car and since I don’t really know anyone here, I’m having to depend on myself to go places. Today for example I rode my bike 3 miles to the nearest Wal-Mart to pick up a few necessities and then rode 3 miles back. It wasn’t as bad as I was expecting fortunately and hopefully because of this by the end of the summer I’ll have some super awesome legs going on! :)
I guess this week hasn’t exactly gone as I’d planned because I hadn’t really anticipated being as much of a hermit as I have been but hopefully for the remainder of my time here this summer I’ll meet more people to hang out with and I’ll find some more things to do around here. I don’t want to just be a hermit even if time alone is good for me. I want to have adventures and not waste this time that’s been given to me.
That’s about all I have to say about this new-found independence I have but I do want to mention that despite my feeling a bit lonely, this is definitely a fantastic time to learn how to draw closer to God and really depend on Him, after all. If I have God, I have everything I’ll ever need.
Thanks for reading!
Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

6 responses to “Living Alone”

  1. Hudson says :

    Good to know you’re hanging in there! Always good to improve one’s cooking skills, as mine are atrocious/non-existent.

    -Hudson

  2. Leelee says :

    Learning to cook is an essential skill to living on your own. If you master it now, then you’ll be able to cook dinner with your future husband, whenever you finally meet him.

Leave a Reply

