A Year of Shenanigans


As the current school year winds down and this week is full of finals, packing and saying goodbye to everyone, I’m realizing more than ever how amazing this year has been. I’ve known from my first week here in my dorm this year, here on my floor, West 5 that this year would be special. Living on a coed floor this year instead of an all girls dorm again like last year has been incredible, I like hanging out with guys better anyways and these guys are amazing. Not only that but I’ve built relationships that are stronger than any I’ve ever experienced before and I know that I’ll keep some of them for my whole life. In addition to having fun and making new friends, I’ve also grown so much, I’ve learned to stand up for myself, I’ve learned to be sassy (In a good way), I’ve learned to cause shenanigans, to have adventures, to sing Disney songs loudly in the lobby while studying for finals, how to work in an office and not be terrified of answering phones, I’ve learned that lightsabers are acceptable to carry around at any time and exploring buildings on campus in the dark is a necessary thing to do, I’ve learned that sometimes it’s necessary to stay up til 4:30 in the morning watching Titanic 2, I’ve learned that watching ridiculous movies is a must with good friends and with people who have good one-liners. I’ve learned floor quotes can be some of the funniest things in the world, I’ve learned that carrots are fun to flick at people in the dining hall, I’ve learned that sometimes staying up til all hours of the morning is ok to do on school nights because after all, you never remember the nights you get enough sleep. This year has truly been the best year of my life and I will never forget it.
To everyone who lives on West 5, for the small number of you that read this blog, I love you all and you will have a special place in my heart forever. Everyone of you has changed my life, you’ve helped me grow, you’ve loved me and accepted me for who I am. You’ve teased me about pretty much everything but it’s always been in a loving way. You’ve taught me to think about things deeper than I have before, you’ve challenged me to think and to share my beliefs more openly than I ever have before. You’ve been there through thick and thin, you’ve been more my family than my actual family has been. I know there have been some rough patches with some people, we’re not perfect and some of us have argued and there have been awkward times but that’s what family is, there for each other no matter what. I want to say thank you for that. You’re all brilliant and this year has been amazing. I’m blessed to have been able to share it with you all.
Thank you all and I love you.

Link to my dorm quotes blog: http://thingsmydormfloorsays.tumblr.com/

Tags: , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

