Books are the most special kind of magic there is.


Almost any of you know by now that reading is my favorite thing. It’s a way to escape reality, go to other worlds, meet characters that will stay with me forever. It’s truly a form of magic I believe. As John Green said in “Looking For Alaska, “When I look at my room, I see a girl who loves books.” That’s me. In my opinion you can never read too much, there’s always more books and stories to explore and enjoy. Anyways, as much as I discuss my love for reading, I’m not sure I’ve ever gone through and made a list of my all time favorite books for you. The list was hard to make, considering I read more than anyone I’ve ever met but here’s a few that will stay with me forever. Enjoy!

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” ~ John Green – The Fault In Our Stars

The best way to get children excited about reading is to read to them from the beginning of their lives.” ~ J. K. Rowling

I don’t believe in the kind of magic in my books. But I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book. ~ J. K. Rowling

7. Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge
This book is an inspirational, Christian book written to “Unveil the mystery of the Woman’s Soul”. Wow. Ok, I realize that sounds uber cheesy and weird but it’s actually really good. It’s hard to explain really but it’s a book I think every girl (and any guy that wants to understand women better) should read. John Eldredge wrote a book called “Wild at Heart” that was the guy’s version of this book then him and his wife Stasi decided to write Captivating. Amazon’s website has this summary about the book:

“Every little girl has dreams of being swept up into a great adventure, of being the beautiful princess. Sadly, when women grow up, they are often swept up into a life filled merely with duty and demands. Many Christian women are tired, struggling under the weight of the pressure to be a “good servant,” a nurturing caregiver, or a capable home manager. What Wild at Heart did for men, Captivating is doing for women. Setting their hearts free. This groundbreaking book shows readers the glorious design of women before the fall, describes how the feminine heart can be restored, and casts a vision for the power, freedom, and beauty of a woman released to be all she was meant to be. By revealing the core desires every woman shares-to be romanced, to play an irreplaceable role in a grand adventure, and to unveil beauty-John and Stasi Eldredge invite women to recover their feminine hearts, created in the image of an intimate and passionate God. Further, they encourage men to discover the secret of a woman’s soul and to delight in the beauty and strength women were created to offer.”

Anyways, you should all read it. :)

6. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
I discuss quite often on here how C.S. Lewis is one of my all time favorite people and is my role model and inspiration for life. These books were the first things I ever read by him, in second grade. Since then, I’ve re-read them all, yes, all 7 of them every single summer. I know they’re children’s books but something about the magic, the allegory of Christ, the wit, the characters, it makes me feel this need for something. The need for adventure and excitement. “No book is really worth reading at the age of ten which is not equally – and often far more – worth reading at the age of fifty and beyond.” ~ C.S. Lewis – I feel like that quote is relevant about these books especially. These books were some of the first that I ever read and probably impacted my view on reading a great deal. These books remind me of one of my favorite quotes, one that happens to be by Lewis.

“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”

They’re perfect.

5. Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller
Another book that has changed my life forever and one that is actually being turned into a movie that will be released later this month! This book is described as “Nonreligious thoughts on Christian Spirituality” and follows the life of Donald Miller as he grows in his faith. It’s a really interesting read and so good that I immediately bought it off of Amazon (Jared had the book and I borrowed it from him to read it). Definitely a must read. What Amazon said:

“”I never liked jazz music because jazz music doesn’t resolve. I used to not like God because God didn’t resolve. But that was before any of this happened.” ―Donald Miller In Donald Miller’s early years, he was vaguely familiar with a distant God. But when he came to know Jesus Christ, he pursued the Christian life with great zeal. Within a few years he had a successful ministry that ultimately left him feeling empty, burned out, and, once again, far away from God. In this intimate, soul-searching account, Miller describes his remarkable journey back to a culturally relevant, infinitely loving God. For anyone wondering if the Christian faith is still relevant in a postmodern culture.”

4. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
In addition to being a nerd in every other sense of the word, I am deeply interested in the fantasy world of Middle Earth created by Tolkien. The elves, the hobbits, the story, the whole adventure of it. Fantasy books mean so much to me because of things like that. I can immerse myself in other worlds and pretend that I’m on the adventures with the Fellowship. I fell in love with these books for the first time in 6th grade and I’ve stayed in love since then. In fact, that is of course where my blog name came from, my love of the elves and of Jesus. :)

3. Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis
I read this one over Christmas break simultaneously with my dear friend Jared then once we were done (We live like 4 hours apart) we Skyped about it and discussed it’s amazingness. It’s one of the most amazing and encouraging books I’ve ever read. It’s truly like C.S. Lewis had an inside conversation with God. Amazing.
What Amazon said:

“A forceful and accessible discussion of Christian belief that has become one of the most popular introductions to Christianity and one of the most popular of Lewis’s books. Uncovers common ground upon which all Christians can stand together.”

2. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
Yes, I’m sure this being on the list comes as a shock to you all. There’s clearly no love of Harry Potter from this girl right? Anyways, I’m pretty sure you all know my deep love of these books. They’ve changed my life, permanently, and made it so much better. The characters are some of my favorites of all time, they’ve taught me to be brave, courageous, loyal and never give up on things that matter. They’ve taught me that and so much more. J.K. Rowling is amazing. For more of my thoughts on the series, here is an older post I wrote: https://elvishjesusfreak.wordpress.com/2011/07/07/my-harry-potter-story/

1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
Before this book came out I had a post about how excited I was for it and how I had pre-ordered it but I’m not sure I ever wrote my thoughts about it. That’s because this book was the most amazing book I’ve ever read. I don’t even know how to describe it. It’s perfect. I’ve liked all of John Green’s books that I’ve read and I absolutely adore watching his and his brother Hank’s videos on YouTube but this is like nothing I’ve ever read. As much as the other books listed mean to me, this one touched me in a way none other has. Through this book I literally laughed and then cried, no book has ever led me on such an emotional roller coaster and despite the hundreds if not thousands of books I’ve read in my life, I’ve never felt such an emotional connection to any characters in my life. I warn you all, it’s not a happy book but I believe if you read it, you will never regret it. If I don’t remember any other book in my life, I will remember this one. It will stay with me forever.
What Amazon said:

“Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.”

“Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.” ~ John Green – An Abundance of Katherines

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

6 responses to “Books are the most special kind of magic there is.”

  1. trudom22 says :

    elvis presley was a big part of my life and journey, i loved that guy, i cryed for a week when he died, i got every song he wrote, take care and God bless

    drop by when you get chance,

  2. beckyholdsworth says :

    I totally get what you mean, I just wrote my first blog post about books, half of it being on ‘The Fault in Our Stars’, it truely is a wonderful book. John Green has a way with words that not many other authors do.

  3. rhiggins75 says :

    stephen king (my fav writer) calls books portable magic. Just thought I’d share that with you.

Leave a Reply

