I Can’t Remember the Last Time I Was This Excited


This post isn’t going to be as deep as my recent posts and in fact, most of you probably won’t care that much about the topic but this is my blog right? And I’m excited about this issue so I’m gonna write about it!
Ok, so some of you might know that before my freshman year of High School (So about 5 1/2 years ago, 6 in October) I lived in Georgia. In October of my freshman year, my family moved to Kansas to be close to my grandparents who are both in their 80s. Don’t get me wrong, I love Kansas, I’ve made some of the best friendships of my life here and I know without a doubt that a lot of these friendships will be the ones I keep for the rest of my life however, I miss my best friend Erin so much. We met in 2nd grade and immediately clicked. She’s been the one person for all this time that I’ve always been able to count on, despite the distance we’ve always been there for each other and through all our hard times in life we’ve been each others comforts and confidants. It’s been 5 years since I’ve gotten to see her and while we still talk all the time, it’s not the same and we’ve been trying to get together ever since I last visited, 6 months after we moved. This year, we were determined to make it work, my parents have been the ones stopping it before but this year, with my new-found ability to stand up for myself, the fact that I’m 20, going into my junior year of college and my absolute need to see Erin, the girl I’ve called my bestest friend since second grade, we were going to make it happen. The past week or so we’d been talking about it nonstop, planning our shenanigans for the time, looking up flights online hoping and praying that it would work. It had been planned for the week of May 14-21, the week after my finals week and during the period I have of 2 weeks off of work for the summer. It was the perfect plan, all that was left to do was call my mother and discuss it with her, using reason and respectfully stating that I’m an adult, it’s my decision and it’s my money as well. Last night was when the call would take place, I had been worried about it all day and praying that she would be able to see reason and understand. It took an hour, and as usual there was a lot of guilting, trying to get me not to but I stood up for myself. I was respectful and reasonable and though she’s not , she said it was my decision. Within minutes of that answer I hopped online and purchased the tickets. This is real. This is happening. After 5 years without my best friend, in a month that will change. May 14-21 of 2012 I will be in Georgia. And I cannot wait.
Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. This is it. « Elvishjesusfreak's Blog - May 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

