What if tomorrow God only let you have what you thanked Him for today?


I’m thankful for warm, sunny days. I’m thankful for shopping with friends. For listening to The Black Keys and the Fratellis loudly with the windows of the car rolled down. I’m thankful for TV shows and movies and books. I’m thankful for friends and for laughter. For new dresses and skirts. For chocolate, for new Taco Bell Doritos tacos. I’m thankful for going back to college. For amazing church services, for praise music. For wonderful books, for authors full of wisdom and God’s love. I’m thankful for all of my friends, full of encouragement and love. I’m thankful for the opportunity to go to school and the opportunity to have a job.
I’m thankful for quoting movies and singing songs with friends. I’m thankful for a safe place to sleep and for always having plenty to eat and drink. I’m thankful for the internet and my blog. For Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr and funny memes. I’m thankful for having people to share my fandoms with and geek out about them.
I’m thankful for everything God has blessed me with, even though I don’t show it often enough.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

2 responses to “What if tomorrow God only let you have what you thanked Him for today?”

  1. abandonculture says :

    If a friend or relative took away some previous birthday gifts or withheld certain favours or help they were currently giving me just because I stopped thanking them for a day then I’d have to call them out for being a bit of a d*ck.

    God is supposed to be all love. He is supposed to be the epitome of moral virtue. If he started getting that petty and mean spirited I fear I’d be tempted to call him something far worse than a mere d*ck. Anyway what would posses him to do such a thing?!!!

    In any case it’s a total double standard. Suppose he gives you cancer, you’re expected to still love him, right? But on the flip side if you don’t thank him everyday for everything under the sun (including things you worked hard for yourself) he can justifiably take those things away…?

    Well if we’re going to play that game why not put pressure on God to end all wars, poverty, starvation, illness and other needless suffering or else we’re abandoning him?

    A healthy relationship requires commitment from BOTH sides after all. When the terms and the power of a relationship are unbalanced, it’s called an abusive relationship.

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      I quite agree with you here. God is love and He wouldn’t ever take these things away but the title is a quote to think about. Because why would we not want to thank Him for giving us everything? For giving us life, love, for sacrificing His son so we can have eternal life. And on top of all that, when we deserve none of that, He also gives us so many things that are just to make us happy. So why shouldn’t we be in endless thanks for that?
      It’s not a double standard because He wouldn’t take it away, and He does understand when we’re angry at Him, He doesn’t like it but He understands it and doesn’t stop us from expressing our free will and emotions about whatever we’re feeling.
      There aren’t any terms and conditions to our relationship with Christ, we’re just called to believe Him and love Him and that is absolutely all. But when we do love Him we want to do work for Him and we want to thank Him for everything. He won’t take our salvation away when we don’t though. But you’re exactly right, a healthy relationship requires something from both sides. And that is why when we love Him, we want to serve Him.
      Thanks for your input!

Leave a Reply

