The Time I Met Zooey Deschanel


It was a few months ago, I was in Wichita over Christmas break and while at a restaurant I looked up and did a double take. What was she doing here? One of my favorite celebrities, Zooey Deschanel was sitting across from me. Being the fan-girl of all things that I am I couldn’t just sit there and do nothing. There she was! Star of one of my all time favorite movies, (500) Days of Summer, the movie with the perfect cast, perfect plot line, perfect script, perfect soundtrack, perfect everything! And there she was. I nervously got up from my table, telling my sister I’d return in a bit and approached her. Admittedly I was a bit intimidated but I swallowed my fear, walked to her table and boldly sat down in the seat across from her. “My name is Hope”, I said, “I’m a huge fan and I know you get this all the time but I saw you and couldn’t pass up the chance. I’d love to talk to you if you don’t mind.” Being the celebrity she is, she seemed undaunted at being approached in this way but she graciously agreed to talk with me for a bit. I told her how much I admire her in everything I’ve seen her in (Which admittedly is almost everything she’s been in) and how I adore her band. She has the quirky yet adorable style that I envy and has a seemingly carefree spirit that is infectious. I usually don’t go out of my way to admire celebrities but she’s one I can’t help but love, she’s gorgeous and everything she’s in is perfect. I told her all this of course (Hopefully I was rather grown up about it and not too fan-girlish) and was delighted to discover she is just as wonderful in person as her characters portray. After chatting for a while, I realized I shouldn’t overstay my welcome so I thanked her for her time and rose to leave. Before I exited back to my own table, she thanked me for coming to talk to her and told me that it meant a lot that I had come to talk to her and that it always means a lot to hear from fans. Needless to say it was a meeting I will never forget and it was a great story to be able to tell.

And a story it was and that’s all it is I’m afraid. Yep, that whole thing was a lie, other than the fact that Zooey Deschanel really is one of my favorite celebrities and that I do admire her. But alas, I have never met her, or any other celebrity. But sometimes I like to search in my imagination and pretend that I live an exciting life. Plus writing fiction is fun, I might try to do it more often actually.
Please give me your feedback on my fictional tale of my life. :)

Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

8 responses to “The Time I Met Zooey Deschanel”

  1. Jennifer Sommer says :

    Hah. You had me fooled.

    I like Zooey Deschanel as well though I know there are many people out there who don’t care for. (500) Days of Summer is brilliant but I really don’t care for her TV show New Girl.

  2. Dan Miller says :

    I am on board with you. Zooey is on top of my list of female actors right now. Can’t miss her show. As for your story, it was a nice read!

  3. Hudson Gay says :

    You tricked me, meanie! Good story, but:

    1. Why wouldn’t you ask her for her autograph?
    2. Why would Zoey be in Wichita of all places?
    3. Why would you be in Wichita?

    All kidding aside, I think it’d be fun to meet a celebrity. Will Smith, Harrison Ford, Maybe George Lucas would be among my top picks. Heck, I’d be Happy to meet Bill Snyder or Frank Martin.

    Have a good day!

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      Ha dang! Autograph… I didn’t think of that,,, and I don’t know, lots of celebrities come to Wichita though. And I’m in Wichita a lot! It’s like 20 minutes from my house! :) And I agree, I think it’d be a lot of fun to meet a celebrity. :) Harrison Ford would definitely be sweet!
      You have a good day too!

  4. emmahevezi says :

    i really liked this because i believed it until the end when you said that it was fake. and i did especially like the way that even in your dreams and imagination you didn’t go over the top when meeting a celebrity! i think it shows mega amounts of control :) i think zooey is an awesome actress and she would be as nice to meet as she seems in her movies.
    i think that you should write a lot more because i really enjoyed it :)
    keepsmiling

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      Well thanks! I was just really feeling imaginative last night and wrote several fictional stories, well started them anyways. I think it’s something I’d like to do more on this blog. :) Thanks for your input and your comment!

Leave a Reply

