I Would Quite Like to Have an Adventure


Last night I got back to my house for my week long Spring Break. You all already know my feelings of being home so I won’t get into those but after getting home, my sister, my friend Rebekah and I went to go see Hugo. For those of you who haven’t heard about it (Which I’m assuming is not many of you since it won almost every Oscar…), it’s about a boy named Hugo who lives in a train station and is uber good at fixing things. When we meet Hugo, he’s currently trying to fix something that he and his father were trying to fix just before his father died. It’s really good and while this is super unusual for a movie, it was actually really encouraging not just on a surface level but on a spiritual level too. One quote from the movie really stuck out to me, “Maybe that’s why a broken machine always makes me a little sad, because it isn’t able to do what it was meant to do… Maybe it’s the same with people. If you lose your purpose… it’s like you’re broken” I thought that line was cool and so accurate. And people without God are like that, broken and hurting and needing a purpose. That’s why we need God, and people without him feel empty, it’s because they’re missing their purpose in life, what they were created to do. Hugo also said something about machines don’t come with extra pieces and so he knew that he belonged because there aren’t extras, this world is like a big machine where we all have a job and a purpose. I thought that was a good reminder for many of us, myself very much included for when I feel useless and alone and purposeless in this world.
There were also quite a few mentions of having adventures in the movie and it made me long to have one. I touched on this recently in a post but I’m alive, God made me and I don’t want to waste any of my time here. I want to take advantage of every second and live life to it’s fullest. I want to go on adventure. I’m like Belle from Beauty and the Beast, “I want adventure in the great wide somewhere, I want it more than I can tell.” I’m like Bilbo, at the end of Lord of the Rings, “I think I’m quite ready for another adventure.” When I’m at home and with my parents I never really get to go on adventures because of their strictness but when I’m away I’m going to make sure I take chances, go on adventures. Plan spur of the moment events. I want to have my own adventure for once, not just read about them.
Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

2 responses to “I Would Quite Like to Have an Adventure”

  1. Victoria-writes says :

    I often get that line from B & B stuck in my head. I hope you get an adventure soon!

Leave a Reply

