The Biggest Lie I’ve Ever Told


Everyday people come up to you and ask how you’re doing, and it seems that daily we lie about it. “I’m fine” is probably the most common lie told and one of the biggest. I’m just as guilty of doing this as anyone if not more but most of the time when we say we’re fine, we’re really the opposite. It seems though that in our society “How are you?” is just a question to ask and very few people actually care about the real answer. They want the answer to be “fine” or “good”, most people don’t take the time to find out how you’re actually doing which to be is one of the worst things there is. There is so much hurt and pain in our world right now, we need people who genuinely care how others are doing. When I ask “how are you?” I want the truth, I don’t want you to tell me you’re fine if you’re not, no matter how bad the truth is I want to hear it and help if I can. Why do we always say we’re fine when we’re not? When did it become so acceptable to lie on a daily basis to everyone? It’s terrible and I wish it would stop.
I don’t know how many of you if any know, but today, March 1, is Self-injury awareness day. It’s a day dedicated to raising awareness of the self-harm and hurt and pain that is so prevalent in our society. It’s a huge problem that needs to be taken more seriously. So many people think those that self-harm are just looking for attention or trying to be dramatic when really most if not all of these people are crying for help, wanting people to notice, to care and to do something about it. This might sound a bit harsh but I think if more people truly cared about others and asked how they were really doing instead of letting them get by with saying they’re fine that could help a lot of this hurt. If these people who are hurting knew someone cared and really wanted to help, they could start opening up, stop lying about their feelings and find comfort and love.
I personally have been blessed with several friends who don’t accept me saying I’m fine, they can see through the lies of me saying I’m fine or that I’m doing well and they make me tell them the truth. Knowing they care helps me feel so much better about everything, safer, loved and comfortable telling them how I really feel. I urge all of you to please, care about others and look for signs that maybe not everyone is as ok as they appear. We all need to care about and love everyone more. That’s what will help our world be a better place, caring.
Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “The Biggest Lie I’ve Ever Told”

  1. paperclip101 says :

    Great post! Really makes you think… wow. That’s all I can say… is wow.

    (Also, on an unrelated note, check out my most recent post. I gave you an award :P)

  2. Hudson says :

    I too find it interesting that people (myself included) do this, or even bring up the problem itself, but do nothing about it. I got a book recently from the library titled ‘Faking It’, which talks about the different ways we deceive each other in society, and perhaps it will have a related section. If I find anything noteworthy in it, I’ll let you know.

    Have a good day,

    – Hudson

Leave a Reply

