It’s been awhile since I haven’t cared about the Oscars…


Normally for some odd reason I’m really interested in awards shows, especially the Oscars but this year I was extremely disappointed by the nominations or to be more clear, lack of nominations for a certain film saga that we all know and love and that I hold extremely close to my heart: Harry Potter. What the heck were the academy people thinking? Only nominating Harry Potter for Art Direction, Makeup and Visual Effects? Really? I had been disappointed in past years that they had never been nominated but I was hoping they would pull a Lord of the Rings and after the last movie came out they would’ve won everything. That would’ve been fine, but three measly nominations? For super small awards? This is ridiculous. Not that the movies nominated are bad I’m sure (I’ve actually never seen any of the movies nominated for the big awards) but come on, Harry Potter influence a generation! It inspired people, it uplifted us, it changed our lives. I’m quite distraught about this award situation. I do hope that they win at least the 3 they were nominated for but for me, Harry Potter should have been nominated for and won Best Picture. And Alan Rickman should most certainly have been nominated at least for best supporting actor, his portrayal of Snape was both perfect and heartbreaking.

What are your thoughts on the nominations? Do you agree with me or do you think that the movies nominated deserve the achievement?

Hope ‚ô•

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

8 responses to “It’s been awhile since I haven’t cared about the Oscars…”

  1. Gardner's World says :

    Lots of popular (and good) films don’t make Oscar nominations. It doesn’t mean they’re bad films, so don’t let it spoil your enjoyment of them.

  2. slytherpuffclawkim says :

    This. I could not agree with this post more. Especially Alan Rickman.

  3. WestSideSingleton says :

    An Academy Award is meaningless because only people and movies that fit into the box will be nominated. The Academy Awards are in no way an indicator of quality.

  4. paperclip101 says :

    Hahaha that video is HILARIOUS! xD Harry Potter TOTALLY should’ve won like… all of the awards lol

Leave a Reply

