Worry is not good.


I’m really bad at worrying. I know I shouldn’t be but I am. It’s not that I don’t trust God because I totally do but I worry about things. I worry about my feelings, I worry about the future, I worry about what people think of me. I hate it, the Bible very clearly many time says don’t worry. Pray about everything. And I do, I pray almost constantly but the devil keeps getting me down with all this worry. And now he’s been plaguing me with loneliness to. Which is stupid, I’m surrounded by friends, best friends all the time. But I still worry and feel lonely, I worry that my best friends this year will not be as close next year. We’ll be across campus from each other and I’m worried that since they’ll all be together next year they’ll forget about me and not have time for me. I hate this feeling, I’m just afraid and worried of being forgotten again. I am always forgotten, I always care more about others than they care about me. Always. And I hate it but I don’t know how to fix it. I just care too much. And these are the things that worry me. I hate it, I need to stop and just trust God. After all, even if I do lose everything else, I have God. And He’s the one that matters.
God, please help me stop worrying and being jealous and let me just focus on what I should. I hate being like this.

Philippians 4:6 ~ Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.

Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “Worry is not good.”

  1. Hudson says :

    Hope, I can say I know what it feels like to be lonely, not so much the worrying but I also feel like I’ve had a bad track record of leaving friends ‘behind’ so to speak. I’ve had some close friends from elementary school through early junior high and due to the fact that I couldn’t readily visit them, due to changing schools, we just never really got together again. I literally didn’t see them from probably 8th grade until their graduation party, and by then I felt out of the loop, and now that we’re at separate colleges, it’s harder to sort of restart. Those friends at least expressed an interest in hanging out, but others met me with cold opposition, though I suppose that’s my fault for not keeping up with them.

    Anyways, my point is that I give you my word that I won’t forget about you next semseter (or after that), even if you are all the way over in Marlatt. ;)
    I think that our sort of W5 community is close enough that it would still be relatively easy to eat and have fun together, even if we’re in different places.

    Hope you get to feeling better.

    Your friend/robot,

    – Hudson

  2. definingmydash says :

    I too struggle with worry and most of the time it is my mind borrowing trouble. I will lay awake at night and not be able to shut off my brain because I have allowed it to become full of worry which turns to anxiety and sometimes panic.
    Sometimes I will get up and read some scripture and remind myself that He cares about me and the details of my life and relationships.

    One of my favorite passages is in Matthew and I like the way The Message version reads:
    25-26″If you decide for God, living a life of God-worship, it follows that you don’t fuss about what’s on the table at mealtimes or whether the clothes in your closet are in fashion. There is far more to your life than the food you put in your stomach, more to your outer appearance than the clothes you hang on your body. Look at the birds, free and unfettered, not tied down to a job description, careless in the care of God. And you count far more to him than birds.

    27-29″Has anyone by fussing in front of the mirror ever gotten taller by so much as an inch? All this time and money wasted on fashion—do you think it makes that much difference? Instead of looking at the fashions, walk out into the fields and look at the wildflowers. They never primp or shop, but have you ever seen color and design quite like it? The ten best-dressed men and women in the country look shabby alongside them.

    30-33″If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers—most of which are never even seen—don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you? What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving. People who don’t know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.

    34″Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

