Tea and Tattoos


As I’m writing this, I’m currently sipping some hot tea while siting comfortably on my bed in my recently (as in today) redecorated room. Since coming home from college my room had been a huge mess because of the boxes my family had stuffed in here since during the school year it’s an empty room. I don’t really mind them using my room as storage space while I’m gone but even though break is now half way through, today I decided to organize their stuff a bit so I could have more room. Then I decided my walls looked to bare so I put up some quotes, some pictures and a few posters I had never gotten around to hanging up, it was quite the productive day. Anyways, that was a rabbit trail completely unrelated to today’s post.
When I started writing tonight, I wasn’t exactly sure where this post was going but the past few months I’ve been pondering getting a tattoo so that’s what I’m going to discuss today. I’ve had lots of friends get tattoos in the past few years and they’ve all loved them. At first, I didn’t really think I would ever be a tattoo girl. I don’t have a super high tolerance for pain, I want to be in the FBI so they probably wouldn’t want me having a tattoo that’s visible anyways and what on earth do I love enough to want on my body forever right? Also there’s the whole debate about whether Christian’s should even get tattoos. I mean, I’m sure my parents won’t be thrilled and there’s that verse in the Old Testament, ““You shall not make any cuts in your body for the dead nor make any tattoo marks on yourselves: I am the LORD.” -Leviticus 19:28. With all of those things against them, why would I want a tattoo? But after a lot of thought, I’ve reached a different conclusion about them.
I’ll start with the verse. At first glance that quite clearly tells Christians not to get tattoos but many theologians have discussed this issue and I’ve researched it a bit and what I’ve found actually isn’t how this verse appears.
What people who’ve studied this verse (Who are much wiser than I am) have decided is that this verse was more about culture and is actually in it’s original translation saying do not make any marks about cult and ritualistic religious practices. Obviously, I’m not getting any Satanic tattoos so we’re good on that one. :) Another thing about that though is the majority of tattoos that I would want would actually be Bible verses or Christian quotes, a friend of mine recently said this on the subject and I share in her thoughts wholeheartedly. “If getting tattoos and piercings mean that I bring more people to God, that people will listen more, that more people fall in love with God, with Christ, how can it be wrong? I want God’s Word on my skin. I want it that close. I want to never be able to deny my faith. I want people to ask what and why. I want to be able to look down at my arms when I am downtrodden and hopeless, and remember the amzingness of my Lord. I want His triumphant Word emblazoned across my skin.” I couldn’t have said it any better. I want God’s word to be on me and I want even my skin to be a witness to God. So yeah, that’s my first reasoning.
Second, how the FBI will feel. Now obviously I can’t get like super obvious tattoos all over my body if I want to be in the FBI but there are definitely places where I could get one that could be obvious in some outfits but could be easily covered up at other times. Places like the back of my shoulders, my feet, and the top of my back. I really want one on my wrist eventually that I could maybe cover up with a watch or something too but I might wait til I’m actually in the FBI for that one. Just to make sure.
Third, pain tolerance. I mean, if I want it bad enough then I can get through the pain right?
Fourth, what on earth would I want on my skin forever? What do I love now that I will for sure love when I’m old and grey? Ok, well for someone who originally didn’t want any, I kind of have a lot. But they all mean a whole lot to me so try not to laugh at me too much. :)
1. I’ve been best friends with my friend Erin since 2nd grade. Both of us have struggled some with our parents and we’ve always been there for each other so we decided after we both graduate college we’re going to get matching tattoos on our feet that say, “Through all the hard times in my life those nights kept me alive”, lyrics from Skillet’s song, “Those Nights”

2. One on my other foot, lyrics from my favorite hymn, “Come Thou Fount”, “Take my heart Lord, take and seal it. Seal it for Thy courts above.” That lyric just is a symbol of how much I love and long for God and for Him to be my all.

3. A lyric from Relient K’s “The Moments I Feel Faint”, “Never underestimate my Jesus.” I feel like that one’s self explanatory. I mean, it just shows how awesome Jesus is, never underestimate Him. Oh, and I want that one on my left hip.

4. On my right hip I want some lyrics from the song “Everything” by Lifehouse. This song first started meaning a lot to me when I saw this skit on YouTube and I fell in love with it. I want this tattoo to say “And how can I stand here with You and not be moved by You?” It’s a good reminder of how many times God works in my life and I don’t even pay attention. I don’t want to be like that, I want to always see His work in my life. 

5. On my left side, I want a quote from one of my favorite Mumford & Sons songs, it’s a good reminder for life. “There will come a time, you’ll see, with no more tears. And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.”

6. These next two are the somewhat sillier tattoos you might laugh at me for but I swear, they mean a lot to me. On my left shoulder, I want the Deathly Hallows symbol only with a lightning bolt instead of a straight line down the middle. I know I’ve said before how much Harry Potter means to me and I thought this was a nice way to show it. Definitely another reason that would cause my parents to freak though… So I’ll definitely wait a while for that one.

7. The other nerdy one I want is the J.R.R. Tolkien symbol because Lord of the Rings means just as much to me as Harry Potter. :)

8. On my back (Like the top so it could be seen in a tank top or dress or something) I want Hebrews 13:5 – For God has said, “I will never fail you. I will never abandon you.”

9.  I don’t know how much you all know about the organization To Write Love On Her Arms but it’s a ministry dedicated to helping people recover from self-harm, depression and suicidal thoughts. It touches my heart because I know people who’ve struggled with all of those things and it means a lot. Anyways, I want a small “love” on my wrist.

10. My favorite author, John Green, has a quote from his book, “Looking for Alaska” that says, “We need never be hopeless because we can never be irreparably broken.” This one I want on my left arm, towards the bicep.

Ok, that was quite possibly my longest post but I hope someone got enjoyment out of it. Do any of you have tattoos? Want tattoos? Have any thoughts of my want of tattoos?

I’ll write soon!
Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

11 responses to “Tea and Tattoos”

  1. Elizabeth Mitchell (: says :

    Wonderful, post Hope! I also want one on my wrist, but not for a while because of job things. If I’m working with the military or the government, so. I love all of your tattoo ideas. I think they’re cute!

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      Thanks girl! And yeah, that’s definitely my thought about the wrist, I don’t want one badly enough to ruin my chances at a dream job! :) And thanks! I’ve thought for quite a while about them! I can’t wait to get started!

  2. Hudson says :

    Hey,

    These seem like cool ideas for tattoos, and it also reminded me that my cousin is getting one of a cross or something soon. Are you wanting all of these, or are you trying to pick from em? I only ask because I feel if you got all of them you’d be cover up all your nice skin, and then I would feel sad. :P
    Kidding aside, I personally think tattoos are more meaninful if you just get one or two, though I personally don’t want any tattoos myself.

    Cheerio,

    -Hudson

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      Hey thanks! Well, I’m not sure exactly..Since they’re so expensive I’ll have some time to think about it but I definitely am seriously thinking about all of them. But with the spots I’m thinking about I don’t think it should be too cluttered. :) I don’t want to cover up too much of my skin! :)
      Thanks for the comment!

  3. LittleMissVix says :

    I love your ideas and I hope you do get one done some day!

  4. slytherpuffclawkim says :

    I think the tackiness or value of tattoos is determined by the image depicted and the value of that image to the individual. So even though I am sure I will never get one, I think if you have thought long and hard about these (which is seems you most certainly have) and they mean something to you (which is certainly seems they do) then more power to you. :)

  5. slytherpuffclawkim says :

    Thanks for this post. I decided to revisit it today and… it’s just really nice. :)

  6. sok noni says :

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

Leave a Reply

