Thirst, Hunger and Crave


Yesterday my pastor had a wonderful sermon on how we need to thirst and hunger for and crave for God. In Matthew it says, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness for they shall be filled.” Unfortunately in today’s society, there seems to be very little of that hunger in anyone’s lives. Yeah, there’s a ton of craving for worldly things but how many people are there that just hunger for God all the time and are so filled with Him that they talk about Him all the time. I’m blessed to know a few people like that but there aren’t many now. When we’re seeking God like we should be, we’ll be filled with praise and praise will spill out of us because we’ll be overflowing with God’s love and praise. Prayer will flow out of us then too. Prayer is another vital part of our relationship with God, it’s our communication with Him. We shouldn’t just use it when we need something or when something is going wrong but we should be in prayer all the time. Like we would talk to a best friend (Which is what Jesus should be to us!). We also need to crave the study of the Bible. Meditate on it and get it in our hears and hearts and truly think on what it says. One thing my pastor said which really like punched me with meaning was we know more about the characters on the Office than we do about the story of Jeremiah. (Yep, definitely guilty there. He even had to use my favorite TV show as that example. Nothing like God really speaking to you!) and we can quote Star Wars (Yet another one of my favorites) better than we can quote scripture. Still guilty there… When we’re in the Word like we should be, that stuff will come flowing out of us, we’ll be more who God wants us to be (We’re still human so we’re not gonna be perfect or anything), we’ll be loving to the “unlovable”, we’ll be able to witness to people and share God’s love with others. We’ll want to shout our love for God from the rooftops and share it with everyone around us.
God, please give me that hunger and passion for you. I’ve found it some these past few weeks but give me even more. Help me be unashamed and loving towards everyone.

Matthew 6:34 – Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.

Psalm 42:1-2 – As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, my God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?

Philippians 3:8-10 – What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith int Christ—the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith. I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death,11 and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.

Tags: , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

