The Last Night


I don’t know how many of you who read my blog have ever listened to the band Skillet but it is personally one of my all time favorite bands. Their sound is super awesome and all their songs have such awesome messages! As I was walking around campus today listening to my iPod, their song “The Last Night” came on and I was especially struck by the message of it. The chorus, “This is the last night you’ll spend alone, Look me in the eyes so I know you know I’m everywhere you want me to be. The last night you’ll spend alone, I’ll wrap you in my arms and I won’t let go, I’m everything you need me to be.” is so encouraging, just picture every time you feel discouraged or helpless, God is there, He’ll never let go and He wants to just take us and wrap His almighty arms around us. If that’s not an encouraging picture I sure don’t know what is! I mean, the Creator of the whole world, cares enough about my discomfort that He wants to make everything better and just hug me. I think one reason I connect with this song so much is just the situation with my parents, there’s a line in the song that says, “Your parents say everything is your fault. But they don’t know you like I know you they don’t know you at all
I’m so sick of when they say. It’s just a phase, you’ll be o.k. you’re fine But I know it’s a lie.” I feel like that a lot, I mean, my parents constantly say everything’s my faul when I know it’s not, yeah, that’s discouraging and quite depressing most of the time but this song just reminds me that no matter how often that happens, God won’t leave me and He’ll always be there to comfort me.
Last night after I wrote my post about contentment, my friend Jared and I stayed up pretty late talking about contentment and God and just how awesome He is and how terribly we treat Him sometimes. It makes me sick to think of how many times I’ve just ignored God. I’ve been concerned and stressed and totally preoccupied with worry and stuff and struggling with insecurities yet even with all that, I’ve been proud enough to try to handle it on my own and not just hand it over to God like I should. Why am I so stupid like that? God is there longing to take my pain and insecurities and everything away from me (Though I sure as heck don’t deserve that kind of love!) yet I’m too proud to just give it to Him. To God, the only one who can actually do anything about it, I always just try to take care of it myself when really the ONLY thing I can do about my problems is give them to God. Wow, I’m dumb sometimes. Thank goodness God is willing to forgive me for that and willing to always be there for me no matter how ridiculous I am in how I act. Which is also quite encouraging.
Another thing that Jared and I talked about last night are the verses Hosea 13:14, “Should I ransom them from the grave? Should I redeem them from death? O death, bring on your terrors! O grave, bring on your plagues! For I will not take pity on them.” and 1 Corinthians 15:55, “O death, where is your victory? O death, where is your sting?” God is so awesome and powerful that He is literally taunting death here, death, the one thing that no one can avoid and God is powerful enough to just taunt it, He’s basically saying, “Come at me bro! What’s up? You can’t do anything without my permission!” So next time I’m discouraged, depressed or just feeling down, I really hope that I can remember the awe and encouragement I feel right now, just thinking about my awesome God. The one who is powerful enough to taunt death and the one who wants to just give me a hug when I’m sad.
Our God is an awesome God.
Hope ♥

You come to me with scars on your wrist
You tell me this will be the last night feeling like this
I just came to say goodbye
I didn’t want you to see me cry, I’m fine
But I know it’s a lie.
[Chorus:]
This is the last night you’ll spend alone
Look me in the eyes so I know you know
I’m everywhere you want me to be.
The last night you’ll spend alone,
I’ll wrap you in my arms and I won’t let go,
I’m everything you need me to be.
Your parents say everything is your fault
But they don’t know you like I know you they don’t know you at all
I’m so sick of when they say
It’s just a phase, you’ll be o.k. you’re fine
But I know it’s a lie.
[Chorus]
The last night away from me
[Bridge:]
The night is so long when everything’s wrong
If you give me your hand I will help you hold on
Tonight,
Tonight.
[Chorus]
I won’t let you say goodbye,
I’ll be your reason why.
The last night away from me,
Away from me.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

2 responses to “The Last Night”

  1. tiallarising says :

    Love skillet!!

    -Tia

Leave a Reply

