I Rest in the Shelter of Your Love


So my last post was about how I needed to stop worrying, so of course, God being awesome like he always is and having amazing timing ALL the time, made my Bible study tonight about contentment. To start off, my leader read a passage from a book called “Calm My Anxious Heart” by Linda Dillow. I’ve never read it but the section she read was great, what stuck out to me was a “Recipe for Contentment” Most amazing thing ever. It hit me so hard and this is definitely something I need to work on.
1. Never complain about anything. Not even the weather
– As I’ve previously discussed here, I’m actually currently working on doing that.. I have gotten better at not complaining… but still have a long way to go..
2. Never picture yourself in another circumstance or place.
3. Never compare your lot in life to another’s.
4. Never allow yourself to wish this or that had been otherwise.
5. Never dwell on tomorrow. Remember, tomorrow is God’s, not ours.
Those just hit me so freaking hard, I really need to remember all of those, especially number 2, gah. I’m so bad at that. Also number 5 is a really good one. Ok, screw that, they’re all good.
In talking about contentment, we of course just discussed how we should always be content. For those of you not quite sure what that word means, you’re in luck! We went over the definition: Please and satisfied with what one has or is. Dang, I need that. Synonyms for the word are peace, assurance and trust. Such a good reminder for how I need to be.
We also went over some really awesome verses that I will now share with you. :)

Jeremiah 31:25 ~ For I have have given rest to the weary and joy to the sorrowing.

Hebrews 13:5 ~ I will never fail you. I will never forsake you. (So good, back to my post a few weeks back about how I’ve been losing friends recently, no matter how many I lose and how much that hurts, God, the most important thing in my life will NEVER leave. Ever.)

2 Corinthians 12:7-10 ~ Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Hosea 13:6 ~ When I fed them, they were satisfied; when they were satisfied, they became proud; then they forgot me. – This one was not actually very encouraging. It’s freaking heartbreaking. God provides everything for us and so often we forget Him. How could we do such things? Like what jerks are we that we forget the one who created us and gives us EVERYTHING? I’m nothing yet I’m such a brat sometimes.

Job 36:11 ~ If they obey and serve him, they will spend the rest of their days in prosperityand their years in contentment.

Philippians 4:11-13 ~ I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.
That one, wow, I mean, almost everyone knows the last verse, but being content with everything, no matter what your circumstance. That’s a lesson I certainly could learn…

But yeah, I just loved this so much, and I totally needed it. Because I’m so stressed about stuff, and because I’m bad at being content I just really needed this a lot and I’m so thankful for it. God constantly amazes me with his awesomeness.

Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

2 responses to “I Rest in the Shelter of Your Love”

  1. leeleegirl4 says :

    Can I love this list? Seriously, I need to keep being reminded of all of them.

Leave a Reply

