I miss Pushing Daisies. And I want some pie.


Pushing Daisies is one of the most amazing shows I’ve ever seen and I’m so sad that it got cancelled, it just made me so happy. (By the way, no idea what inspired this post, someone mentioned pie and now I’m craving pie and thinking of how I love Pushing Daisies, so voila, a post about it.) For those of you who have never seen it or heard of it, the summary of the show given by IMDB says this, “A pie-maker, with the power to bring dead people back to life, solves murder mysteries with his alive-again childhood sweetheart Chuck, a cynical private investigator Emerson Codd, and a lovesick waitress.” For a bit of a deeper understand of the show you need to know that when Ned the Pie maker brings someone or something back to life, if he ever touches them again they’ll immediately die and if he lets them live after dying for longer than a minute, something else has to die. I realize this show might sound a bit grim from this description but it’s actually one of the most light-hearted and witty shows I’ve ever seen. For anyone who hasn’t seen it, I suggest you immediately go watch it. It’ll make you all happy inside.
Hope ♥

“I just thought my world would be better if you were in it.”

“I suppose dying’s as good an excuse as any to start living.” ~ Chuck

Ned: Hi!
Chuck: Hi!
Ned: You must be the new girl in 44. I’m Ned.
Chuck: I’m Charlotte, but you can call me Chuck.
Ned: Hi, Chuck. I really want to kiss you now.
Chuck: But, we’ve only just met! We’re two strangers in a big city! These things take time! I work in the Pie Hole downstairs.
Ned: Really? I own the Pie Hole downstairs. May we walk together?
Chuck: Well, that’d be swell, Harvey.
Ned: It’s Ned, actually.
Chuck: Ned-a very nice name.
Narrator: Having recently discovered that watching someone else make a fresh start alone can be fairly traumatic, the lovers who could not touch were happy to find that making a fresh start together was a thrill.
Ned: Can we play this game every morning?
Chuck: Absolutely. Definitely.

Ned: You’re the only one for me.
Chuck: I know you feel that now, but there are things you want, there’s things we both want.
Ned: So? Everyone wants stuff. We wake up every day with a list of wishes a mile long and maybe we spend our lives trying to make those wishes come true, but just because we want them, doesn’t mean we need them to be happy.
Chuck: What do you need to be happy?
Ned: You

“Ned: My name is Ned. I live a simple life. I wake pies and make the dead- that was creepy. I make pies and wake the dead. I live alone, and this empty bed next to me has never been slept in by anyone, at any time.
Chuck: I’m Chuck. A single girl who recently moved into her own apartment in a big city. Raised in a small town by two unmarried sisters, I call my aunts. I have unexciting, yet realistic hopes for my life.”

“Somebody’s always loving somebody they shouldn’t be loving.”

“[A hug is] like an emotional Heimlich: someone puts their arms around you and gives you a squeeze and all your fear and anxiety goes shooting out of your mouth like a big wet wad and you can breathe again.”

“Wouldn’t it just rock and roll if liking someone meant they had to like you back? Of course, that’d be a different universe and something else’d probably suck.”
— Olive Snook

“You don’t have to pay for friendship. The truth is, there are a lot of people like you. Us. With strange hobbies or talents, or gifts that we try to hide because we’re afraid it makes us seem weird, or turns people off. But that’s a mistake. What makes me unique has brought every person I love into my life.”
— Ned (Pushing Daisies)

Tags: , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

11 responses to “I miss Pushing Daisies. And I want some pie.”

  1. slytherpuffclawkim says :

    Finally! Someone else remembers Pushing Dasies! People always look at me like I’m crazy when I mention it. That show was great– really well written.

  2. slytherpuffclawkim says :

    It really is. Wonderful for expressing feelings and rambling about Doctor Who and Harry Potter and the vlogbrothers and life.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Top Favorite TV Shows « Elvishjesusfreak's Blog - March 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

