My Parent’s Might’ve Been (Partially) Right About Me


I know that everything my parents say to me and about me is not accurate. I’ve come to realize that, I know it’s just hurtful (though I’m sure they don’t mean it as such) but after all the times they’ve called me a selfish brat, today I realized they might’ve been partially right about that one. I mean, I’m a very caring person and I always try to be there for my friends and everything but today in a class we watched a video about children in Uganda who are living in a war torn area who have absolutely nothing. Yet, they’re happy. Watching them giggle and laugh and play while having absolutely nothing made me feel terrible. I complain all the time and I have been so blessed. I mean, look at my blog, I’m angsty, I complain about the weather, I complain about my family, I complain about not having guys interested in me when I want them to. Sure, those things suck but I have so much to be thankful for! I really am selfish sometimes. I care about the people around me, sure and thats good obviously I always want to be there for my friends and anyone who needs to talk about anything but I haven’t done a thing to help people far away from me who are living without things that we take for granted every single day. These kids don’t have shoes, toothbrushes, anything. I definitely have all those things and more and it makes me sad to think about everyone who doesn’t. As a poor college student, I can’t financially help at the moment but when I can I plan on doing something about this. I hate seeing people without things they need like this, it just makes me really sad. I’m also going to check into the Invisible Children organization, who made the video we watched today and see if there is anyway I can help them through volunteering or something of the sort.
I’m definitely going to try to start thinking about others more before thinking about myself and my petty problems.
Hope

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

