I’m Mildly Terrified.


A few days ago I wrote was about finally standing up for myself against my parents. Don’t worry, I’m not chickening out of this or anything but the more I think about it, the more scared I am. I know I have to do it but I’m not entirely sure how to go about this process. I need to do it respectfully obviously and I want them to still know I love them and everything but I can’t let them walk all over me either. I’ll be going home for Thanksgiving break on the 19th of this month and that’s when I need to say something and that terrifies me. I know when I say something my mom will start crying as always and tell me yet again how I’m breaking her heart. Of course she’ll probably also throw something in there about how she’s the only one I’ll ever be able to count on in my life because she’s family and no one else in this world actually cares. Yeah right… Anyways, if any of you have any ideas on what I should say here, that’d be great. And any prayers would still definitely come in handy. Thank you lovely readers!
Hope ♥

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “I’m Mildly Terrified.”

  1. LittleMissVix says :

    I think what you’ve said here would be good, that you love them and you’ll always be close to them but you feel that as you’re getting older and are away at college, you want to start making more of your own decisions, say that you really appreciate how they’ve raised you as it means you’ll always stay on the right path etc but you need more independence. Good luck, it won’t be easy but you can do it and you’ll feel a lot better!

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      Thank you so much! That is really good advice. I really will feel a lot better I’m sure. I’m nervous about it now but I’m already feeling slightly relieved knowing that it’ll (hopefully) be better once this is done!

  2. Coryn says :

    Basically yes. Make sure you push the fact that you do still love them. And that you are appreciative of everything they’ve done. Some logistical advice though: Wait until after Thanksgiving dinner perhaps? The awkward Thanksgiving is cliche but that doesn’t mean it’s not true.

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      That is definitely good advice! I mean, I’ll have to tell them that I’m leaving Thanksgiving break early before Thanksgiving dinner but saying everything else should definitely wait. Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

