Who is Jesus to me?


I’m currently filling out an application to work at the church camp that I’ve attended and loved for several years now. It’s always been my dream to be a cabin leader and now, I finally have a shot. While filling out this very long application, I came across one of the essay questions, “What do you believe about Jesus? Who is Jesus in your life?” and I really had to sit back and think about how to answer that. How do you explain your best friend and Savior of your life in 300-500 words? How do you sum up how He has changed your entire life and saved you from your sins? It might seem like an easy question at first glance but really it’s not at all. After a while though, I think I finally came up with a decent answer so I decided to share with all of you, my lovely readers, who my Jesus is to me. There’s so much more I want to say about Him, but I think for now, this will sum it up.

I believe that Jesus is the Son of God and the Lord and Savior of the world. I believe that He was born of a virgin, grew up as a mere human then was killed on the cross for claiming to be God’s son. Most importantly I believe that three days after his death on the cross, Jesus was resurrected from the dead and ascended into Heaven where He is now preparing a place for me and all others that are children of Christ. It sounds cliché to say it, but quite honestly Jesus is my best friend. Unlike everyone else in this world, Jesus is always there for me no matter what. In times of trial, joy, sadness or despair, it doesn’t matter; I know that no matter what, I can always talk to Him about anything. He is my all in all, the one person who will never leave me and the one I can count on for anything. Many times in my life when I have felt sad and alone or just needed someone to talk to, I have happily turned to Jesus. Being able to talk to your best friend at any time about any situation is one of the most encouraging things one can experience, and the fact that my best friend is also the son of God and Savior of the world just makes it all the better. Jesus is also my Savior, He saved me by dying on the cross for my sin, a penalty that no one should ever have to take but one that He took willingly because of the love He has for me. Thinking about all that Jesus has done for me is always super encouraging because it just shows the love He has for everyone, He is the Son of the King of Kings yet He cares for all of us so much that He was willing to be brutally murdered on a cross just to save us from what we deserve for our sin. To sum up my beliefs about Jesus, I believe that Jesus along with God the Father is love, true love, not the shallow love of this world and because of that love He was willing to die to save us all and because of His sacrifice, He also made it so anyone who accepts His free gift of eternal life can also have a relationship with Him enabling us to talk to Him at any time.

Hope

“I have decided to follow Jesus, I have decided to follow Jesus, I have decided to follow Jesus. No turning back, no turning back.”

“Prone to wander, Lord I feel it. Prone to leave the God I love.”

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

