My Harry Potter Story


After watching today’s Harry Potter premiere in London for the very last time, I was inspired to write about how I first came to be a Potterhead.

From the time the very first book came out, I always wanted to read it. The magic seemed amazing and I had several friends who loved it. Right away unfortunately my very strict parents were completely against it. Being the obedient, Christian girl I am, I didn’t disobey my parents but I did beg and plead for quite a while. After some time, I realized they weren’t going to budge and asking was just pushing them farther from saying yes. The subject rested for a bit with me still wanting to read and watch them, every time I saw a magazine with anything about Harry Potter, I would secretly read it so I knew common things about it. The characters names, what a Muggle was, simple stuff like that. Nothing changed at all until my Sophomore year of High School when I took a class entitled, “Myth, Legend and Fantasy”, I took the class because I knew we got to watch all 3 Lord of the Rings movies, Princess Bride and Monty Python and the Holy Grail. What I didn’t know, was that we also got to watch the first Harry Potter movie. I felt a little guilty watching it when my parents had specifically said no but at the same time I fell a little bit in love. Of course when I got home from school my parents were outraged that a teacher would show such a controversial movie in school.

Nothing else Potter related happened to me until early Spring semester of my senior year of high school. I went to my towns library and was looking at the books they sell and found Chamber of Secrets and Prisoner of Azkaban for 25 cents each, Hardback, first edition. I knew I wasn’t allowed to read them still but since I was almost out of the house for college, I went ahead and bought them and hid them in my closet. A few days after graduation last May, I begged my mother once again to let me read them. She told me that as long as I didn’t bring them in the house and read them outside I could go ahead, though she definitely let me know how unhappy she was about the situation. I read all 7 books in a week and a half. I laughed, I cried, I fell in love with the story, the magic and the characters. Reading the books took me out of reality and into a place where real-life problems couldn’t touch me. It was, for lack of another word, magical.

Less than a week after I finished the books my best friend Jill hosted a Potter marathon at her house where a bunch of us got together and watched all of the 6 movies. Yes, it took a while, 9am to past 11pm but it was amazing.

In November, when DH Part 1 came out, I went with a couple of friends from college to my first ever midnight premiere for anything. The feeling of that was wonderful too, the excitement, seeing everyone in costume, everything. It was brilliant.

Now of course I’m back home for the summer and miraculously my mom gave me permission to go to the DH Part 2 premiere next week. About 10 of my friends and I are going together and while I haven’t been a fan as long as they have. I am every bit as much of one as they are. I’ll cry at the Premiere just as everyone else will and like everyone else, I know that the magic of Harry Potter will never truly end. This first chapter might be ending but a legend is just beginning.

Thank you, Jo, for everything.

Tags: , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

6 responses to “My Harry Potter Story”

  1. jgavinallan says :

    I just finished with Chambers of secrets(my first) I love it. When I have a writing block I read a book totally different than my writing. FYI: Every story I write is two people of opposite lives meet-fall in love—then something terrible happens—and rest of the book is them getting back together. No kidding
    I think it is a great series…my friend has all the books, so I will borrow
    byebye
    Jaye

  2. Vix @ LittleMissEverything says :

    I can’t belive it’s almost all over boo but I’m so glad we have HP and always will! I love the books too and think they have done a great job with the films. I remember going at midnight to get book 5 and reading Book 7 in a day. We’ll always have the memories!

Leave a Reply

