Just stop it, please.


Again with the parents. Again, skip if you don’t want to hear (or I guess read about it…) but I have to get it out. Tonight it was about my appearance and personality. I hate chick flicks, I always have, I just think they’re too angsty and sappy. They’ve known this for years, I’ve never liked them with the exception of the occasional few romantic comedies (Emphasis on the comedy). They’ve known this but tonight they decided to tell me that I really need to start liking them and be softer because no guy is going to like a girl that’s “Hard and tough”. Um…. I’m not hard or tough… Just because I don’t like chick flicks doesn’t mean anything. And last I checked, guys don’t like girls who are over girly and pansies. Correct me if I’m wrong here please but oh my goodness… Then they started in on my appearance. Apparently, no guy, at least no nice guy would even look twice at a girl who has dyed hair and a nose ring. I “used to look so pretty” before I did this to myself. Hmm. Funny how I thought they had always told me to be myself and not change for anyone. If a guy doesn’t like who I am then why would I want to be with them anyways?
And they act like I’m not trying here, I am! I want to have a guy who cares about me and loves me like that, it just hasn’t happened yet. It’s not because of anything I’m doing, it’s because God’s plan obviously doesn’t include that yet.
Mom keeps complaining how I didn’t meet very many guys at college and by the time she was finished with her freshman year she had met “hundreds” of guys. Ok, well college has OBVIOUSLY changed because I did everything I could! I went to Bible study every Tuesday and Thursday night (besides the nights I had to work), I went to church on Sundays, I went to all the events the three dorms in my complex put on. I have lots of guy acquaintances at college, just not too many guy friends. It’s not my fault but mom’s just sure it is.
At least I only have a month and a half left of summer now. It’s so depressing to be at home. :(
Hope

Tags: , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

7 responses to “Just stop it, please.”

  1. jgavinallan says :

    Hate to sound like a phrase from a “chick flick”
    When it happens…it happens…
    But that’s the way it is
    Jaye

  2. The Doctor (YOU KNOW WHICH ONE!) says :

    Hope I must say I personally LOVE girls that are not REALLY girly and stuff. I like them to be a little tough like, and capable of taking care of themselves.And no I’m not saying you are hard or tough. I am merely stating you are VERY capable of taking care of yourself, and I admire that. And I think your parents are VERY wrong on ALL accounts. You are VERY good looking, and you are an amazing girl, I personally enjoying just being around you. Because you are good to talk to,and you are good at making me smile. Or making me think, even when it IS just about Doctor Who conspiracies and such. And I think your look suits you, and you look amazing! Any guy would be LUCKY to have you. Just because you haven’t got one yet, it doesn’t mean you won’t.And just because you don’t know who it is yet, it doesn’t mean you haven’t MET him.SOMEONE is out there for you. You are too great a girl to NOT have someone.Sometimes you just need to block out what your parents say. Despite what they world says, parents, do not ALWAYS know what’s best.

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      Thank you so much. You don’t know how much that meant, really. :)

      • The Doctor (YOU KNOW WHICH ONE!) says :

        Of course! I’ve got your back Hope! I refuse to accept someone saying those things to you. That’s not right. You deserve the respect of your parents. And I truly believe, that if anyone deserves a happily ever after. It’s you and your sister.

      • elvishjesusfreak says :

        Thanks again. :) I really do appreciate it quite a lot!

  3. Vix @ LittleMissEverything says :

    It’s a bit confusing they want you to be a good girl yet meet lots of men! I’d be quite worried if my mum said she knew hundreds of guys :) Seriously though just stay true to yourself and goodthings will happen!

Leave a Reply

