No matter how I happy I am, they can always bring me down.


Last night the concert my sister and I went to was absolutely amazing! It was a Christian Rock concert with the bands The Afters and Sanctus Real and it truly amazing! The music was great, it was a fun time with my sister and the faith those guys have is so inspiring and outstanding! I was actually having a super great night and I was glad to finally do something fun! However, as soon as I got home, just like always, mom and dad ripped into me for nothing, calling me lazy and selfish, telling me I have a terrible work ethic and saying they were ashamed of the way I’ve turned out. But, as always, they ended it with, “We’re not trying to pick on you, we tell you this because we love you.” Somehow it’s not quite as convincing after an hour of telling me how horrible I am and how you both were perfect children. They literally told me they never did anything wrong as a child and always did what their parents wanted at all times and are very hard workers and they’re quite disappointed I didn’t turn out the same way. Funny how I do a ton of housework all the time because mom is bedridden with a nerve disease and both me and my sister get her all her meals and anything she needs to drink along with washing laundry, cleaning the entire house and all the other random stuff she decides has to be done. Like going through her mother’s trash every single day in every trash can in her house. I’m still not entirely clear on why she wants us to do that but because we are obedient children, we do as she asks. I’m tired of doing everything she wants and more and still getting reprimanded for it. I’m 19 years old and I shouldn’t have to put up with this. And neither should my 14 year old sister. It’s awful.

Have a good weekend everyone! I’ll write more tomorrow.
Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

12 responses to “No matter how I happy I am, they can always bring me down.”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster says :

    This reminds me of so many arguments my mom and I had. Even after I moved out of the house, she’d tell my I needed to do x, y, or z to show I loved her. I’d retort that you don’t get to tell people how to love you (a line which shows up in The Monster’s Daughter) and that she could either (a) be glad for what she had or (b) keep her dissatisfaction to herself since it wasn’t within my power to make her feel satisfied.

  2. Vixter2010 says :

    So sorry to hear that, just be strong and follow your dreams, don’t let it get you down!

  3. lindsayelisabeth says :

    I read this, and thought “Wow, this sounds so much like me!” the part about going to a great concert and being encouraged in the Lord and then RIGHT after it ends, being bummed out by something. But remember, that Satan loves to get us, right when we are UP! But that’s not God’s heart. Tonight, I felt pretty bummed out too. I think it was for bit of a different reason; It was because I literally felt like I’m NOT where I should be at. I’m not the person I should be. But the result was the same; Bummed! …But then I read Romans 8. And I was reminded why I can stand up, and “re-gain” that great feeling of peace and happiness! Romans 8, I love that chapter. It says; To not fear, because we have victory. That God is our Abba Father and we can bring every hurt and burden to Him ‘cause He’s our Dad! That He causes all things to work together for our good. That God loved us so much that He sent His son to die for us, so why would He stop there? He’s gonna give us every good thing! That we OVERWHELMINGLY conquer through Christ who loves us, and lastly that NOTHING can separate us from the Love of Christ. And this is all just in one chapter! Phew! :)

    …I was having a hard time understanding how I can do what I feel like I can’t! …But when I remember these six truths of being a believer in Christ found in Romans 8…I realize, it doesn’t matter how many times I fall or how many times I get knocked down, Jesus really will ALWAYS pick me up. He’s always a steady stream of happiness, an always-present reason for joy, no matter how much we go up or down on the “happiness meter” :) …Even when our closest loved ones forsake us, Jesus NEVER will. Even when our parents don’t seem to be on our side, He is! Or When they don’t get us, He does! Just lean on Him.

    Sorry for the WAY long comment. I know that you know all of this already. But I just love your blog and have been blessed so often by your comments! I wanted you to know you’re SO not alone. I will be 19 next month, and am also learning how to live and deal with hurts and things…and I’m finding I need to be constantly reminded of these truths! That God is good. And you have a family of believers who are caring and praying for you too! I know that I am.

    I hope you have a blessed and happy Friday!

    Lindsay :)

    • elvishjesusfreak says :

      Aw man, your comment literally just made my whole day. Thank you so much for the encouragement, I don’t care that it was a long comment, I really appreciated it. And I do know all of that but it’s really good to be reminded, so thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoy my blog, I enjoy yours a lot too!
      Happy Friday and I hope you stop being so bummed out!
      :)

  4. jgavinallan says :

    My new friend…this was hard to read. To describe..I know it is important with insight…but to explain. I learned a phrase in USA…to describe me.
    I was attached to mother’s hip till teenager…lol
    But interesting and I enjoy how you express yourself.

    Jaye

  5. Elizabeth Mitchell (: says :

    I’m praying for you beautiful! (:

  6. tinkerbelle86 says :

    i had this till recently and im 25! i moved out. problem solved! :)

Leave a Reply

