“I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn’t any Narnia.”



For almost as long as I can remember, reading has been my absolute favorite thing. I’m never happier than when I’m settled with a wonderful book that takes me away to a different world. Especially fantasy books are the best things ever, ever since second grade when I first picked up the Chronicles of Narnia, the thought of fantasy worlds has been my biggest dream. If I could have one wish, it would literally be to go to Narnia, Middle-Earth, Hogwarts or to travel with The Doctor. I’ve often dreamed of Narnia being real and of exploring the wonderful world that C.S. Lewis created and talking to the different creatures and such. In Middle school, I finally started reading the Lord of the Rings, again I fell in love with yet another fantasy world (though between 2nd grade and middle school and even now I’ve re-read the Narnia books each summer. They never get old.) and wanted to go on adventures with Hobbits and Men and Elves. Both of these obsessions have lasted til the present and I’m sure will last much longer but then last summer it was joined by another fantasy obsession, Harry Potter. All three of these series mean so much to me. I know it seems odd to be so attached to worlds that according to some (I’m still holding out hope) don’t actually exist but to me it’s a way to get away from reality a bit. To go to a new world, a better world where anything could happen. And though their lives are far from perfect there, they have troubles that they can overcome, and they always have people who will help them through it and good always overcomes evil. Fortunately, the good thing about real life is I do have good friends who will help me get through anything and I know eventually, that good will overcome evil though sometimes it seems like the bad will always prevail. I’m so thankful that fantasy exists in the world and I look forward to the day in Heaven that I can sit and discuss Narnia and Middle-Earth with Lewis and Tolkien. I look up to both of them so much, their faith and their writings just astound me.
Well, goodnight everyone!
Hope ♥

“I’m on Aslan’s side even if there isn’t any Aslan to lead it. I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn’t any Narnia.”
~ Narnia: The Silver Chair

“And for us this is the end of all the stories, and we can most truly say that they all lived happily ever after. But for them it was only the beginning of the real story. All their life in this world and all their adventures in Narnia had only been the cover and the title page: now at least they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on for ever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.”
~ The Last Battle

Sam: I know. It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.
Frodo: What are we holding onto, Sam?
Sam: That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo… and it’s worth fighting for.”
~ Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

“Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”
~ Albus Dumbledore

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to ““I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn’t any Narnia.””

  1. vixter2010 says :

    I just got the third Narnia film on DVD cna’t wait to watch it. I don’t think I’ve read all the books but like the films. And you know I love HP!

  2. Deborah the Closet Monster says :

    I know it seems odd to be so attached to worlds that according to some (I’m still holding out hope) don’t actually exist but to me it’s a way to get away from reality a bit.

    It doesn’t seem weird to me at all! In the wake of my mom’s death, I’ve felt like she lives on in my heart. There’s a kind of fantasy in that, too; the moments have been lived, and I’ll never make another new one. But in my heart, it feels as if she’s still there experiencing each of these things with me.

    Though she was a “real” person, she’s now a memory. Memory involves recreation of past experiences, and a little imagination. (No imagination, and we’d be staring at running water going: “Oooh. Pretty.”) When we read books, we convert those words to images and experiences that are converted to memory-like feelings. Their stories become a part of our own. So I’m going to keep on loving those “make-believe” worlds, because they’re real in my heart . . . as well as being a bridge to the minds of their creators. What’s not to love about that?

Leave a Reply

