I want to be like you.



Today as usual, I went to church and always, the message spoke to me a lot! Obviously since it is Palm Sunday the pastor spoke a bit on that and of Jesus’ last days on earth. The message today was mostly about when Jesus washed the feet of His disciples (John 13:1-7). The pastor talked about how this was the last statement of love that Jesus made on this earth. At this time in History, the washing of feet was done by the lowest of servants, by washing the feet of His disciples showed what it’s like to be a servant, to put yourself last, even though in His case He is the greatest in the whole world. He’s God! Yet he got down like a servant and washed His disciples feet. I think this is one of the coolest stories in the Bible personally. I mean, as humans pretty much all of us want to put ourselves first all the time and very few, if any of us truly enjoying being a servant all the time but God says that we should be servants to all and love others before we love ourselves. By washing their feet, Jesus made the disciples realize that they need to stop fighting and putting themselves first and all the other things that as humans they were doing, he made them see that they too need to put themselves in last place and love others more than themselves. If the Son of God was willing to be put last, how much more should we be willing to be last? And if we do that, God will bless us and when we get to Heaven He will put us first. The real message that Jesus was trying to convey is “Do you realize what I’m doing for you? Now go do the same and serve!” Jesus saw the need and me it. Who is going to meet the needs that no one else is willing to meet? Jesus will, and those who look like Jesus, his followers are to meet the needs of everyone. We need to live up to the standards of Christ and be a servant for others. We need to go look for people that we wouldn’t normally love and love them like God loves them. We are called as Christians to love everyone. God never promises that it’ll be easy, in fact He said that sometimes it’ll be quite hard but it will always be worth it. Romans 12:1 & 2 says it best I think: “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life-your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life-and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.”
From now on, I’m going to try my very best to put God first in my life and then make sure to love everyone like He wants me too. I’m also going to try to be more open with my faith. I’ve never led anyone to the Lord and that makes me really sad. I sorta just like broke down in church, like not crying or anything but just really sad realizing that I don’t show my faith as much as I should. Everyone who’s met me recently for sure knows that I love Doctor Who and that I’m a total fangirl but how many of them know that I’m a Christian and that God is number one in my life? I’m afraid to find out… I need to be more of a fangirl for God than anything else. I need to let people know that God loves them so much He gave His only Son for them. He wants people to love Him so much.
Jesus, I want my heart to break for what breaks Yours. I want to be like You. ♥
~ Hope Kristen

Tags: , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

