There will never be a more beautiful you ~ Jonny Diaz


So last night, some of the girls on my floor started a Bible study for the book “More Beautiful You” by Jonny Diaz and his mom Gwendolyn. For those of you who were wondering, yes, in addition to church on Sundays, this is now my third Bible study each week, Small group Tuesday nights, small group with my dorm Wednesday nights and Navigators on Thursdays, then of course Sundays I have church. It’s wonderful! I get so much out of each of them and I love the fellowship!
Anyways, I didn’t come here to talk to you all about how many Bible studies I’m involved in. I wanted to talk a bit about what we learned last night. For those of you who don’t know, Jonny Diaz is a singer/songwriter who wrote and sings the song “More Beautiful You”, if you haven’t heard the song I really encourage you to check it out! It’s really touching and beautiful!

There could never be a more beautiful you
Don’t buy the lies disguises and hoops they make you jump through
You were made to fill a purpose that only you could do
So there could never be a more beautiful you

In the study last night, we went over the first two lessons and I’ll just give you a quick recap over it!
The first lesson we talked about how much emphasis that the world and our society places on outer beauty and looking perfect. I know I’ve had several posts on this topic so I won’t really get into that again (If you want to read those just go to the search bar and type “In His Image” or um, I don’t remember what the other one was actually…) but then we talked about how while that’s what the world cares about, God actually cares about inner beauty first, not outer.
In the second lesson we sorta talked about the same thing but we also went over the verse 1 Peter 3:3-4.

Our beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

That’s what God cares about, not outer beauty. He made us all beautiful. He doesn’t want us to all look the same, so why as girls do we get all
concerned about comparing ourselves with other girls? Something the book pointed out that I thought was especially good was the Bible never once mentions the physical aspects of the women it talks about. Don’t you find that strange considering it gave complete details on the ark that Noah built. The size, shape, wood used, the windows, everything, yet it never says what God’s ideal women looks like. You know why I think that is? Because it doesn’t matter. We are ALL beautiful to him, he doesn’t want us to look the same. God loves diversity.

That’s about all, I just thought that was really great! I hope you enjoyed it too!
Hope ♥

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

4 responses to “There will never be a more beautiful you ~ Jonny Diaz”

  1. Amendoza says :

    Great blog! I’ll definitely check out that book. I loved how you wrote, “God loves diversity.” Have a great day!

  2. vixter2010 says :

    I really admire your faith! It’s def true that inner beauty counts for so much more, it’s a shame so much is placed on looks and weight etc.

Leave a Reply

