In His Image


Today I read an article in our school newspaper about eating disorders. Apparently, last week was National Eating Disorder Awareness week. Apparently over 70% of women on college campus claim to be on some sort of diet or have at least been before. I think this is quite sad when also thinking about the amount of people with eating disorders of all kinds and just in general how much women especially think so badly about their body. Many women (myself definitely included) feel that we’ll never measure up, that we’re just not good enough the way we are. I personally am often upset with my muffin top, my squishy stomach and my too-big thighs, I know I am not alone when I say that I wish I were thinner and often compare myself to other, smaller girls. Even though most of us do it, it doesn’t make it right, in fact, it’s really sad. In the Bible, God says that He made us all in HIS image. Our image in the one of the Lord over all the earth, the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, He made us just how He wants us to be!

Genesis 1:27 So God created human beings in his own image. In the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.

That’s not to say that we shouldn’t take care of ourselves, yes, eating healthy is always good as is exercise, but we can’t let it become such an obsession, we’re beautifully made in God’s image and He loves us the way we are. We just need to take care of ourselves. That’s all. :)
So, let’s all try to be happy with how we look, not be obsessed with trying to look how we think the world wants us to look. The world’s media who’s giving us all this crap about how we need to look doesn’t know anything anyways, most people aren’t a size 2 like in the movies. We need to realize we’re all beautiful! :)

“I leave you peace; my peace I give you. I do not give it to you as the world does. So don’t let your hearts be troubled or afraid. ~ Jesus

Tags: , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

2 responses to “In His Image”

Leave a Reply

