19 and Never Been Kissed


Today, in our culture it seems like everyone is super shocked that at 19, I’ve never been kissed. When it’s brought up in conversation I usually have at least one person say, “Oh I’m so sorry!”, well guess what? I’m not sorry. Not at all. I’ve had two “boyfriends” in high school and I didn’t kiss either of them, you know why? Well think about it, everywhere you look there seems to be heartbreak, since I haven’t kissed anyone I don’t have to regret any kisses I’ve had, I don’t have to worry if I’ve been a good kisser, I don’t ever feel like I’ve gone to far in a relationship and there are millions of other reasons that I’m not sad that I’ve never been kissed. Sure, at times I’ve wished that I had been but I feel like for now, God wants me to wait a bit, til I find the right guy to kiss. I don’t know when the right time for my first kiss will be, maybe it’ll be soon, maybe it won’t be til I get engaged, maybe it won’t be til my wedding day. I don’t know. All I know right now is that I’m content with waiting. True love waits, it really does, even if it’s just waiting on kissing. I’ll wait until I find my Prince Charming who will love me just as I am, and won’t mind waiting to kiss.


In the Bible, God calls us to be pure, to remind myself of that at all times, I wear a purity ring (well, two actually, one my dad gave me that’s a purple heart jewel and one that says, “True Love Waits”). I believe that God wants us to be pure in all things we do. Now I’m not saying that everyone should wait a while to kiss, because I don’t think that’s true, I think that God has different boundaries for different people but I do encourage you all to think about it before you kiss someone. Don’t just give your kisses away, make sure they mean something and are special. :)

Yeah, I know this seems a bit sappy and über romantic, especially for someone like me that last week wrote about not believing in love anymore. But really, I sort of am a hardcore (though secret) romantic who believes that my Prince is out there somewhere. I don’t know when or where I’ll find him, or if I know him now even. God has a wonderful plan for me, and someday I’ll find my Mr. Right. I know it’s super cliché and cheesy but I believe that someday my Prince will come. I just have to learn to be patient.

Hope

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

