Christmas time is here!


Well, today is Christmas Eve, I mean, it doesn’t really feel like it at all and unfortunately none of my family is really in the Christmas mood. Holidays always seem to bring out the worst in my family actually, like everything has to be perfect for family to come over and everything. I think that’s sad. Especially around Christmas, I mean this isn’t an earthly holiday! This is a holiday to celebrate the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ! Why are we so concerned about earthly things? Shouldn’t we just be happy to have a family to get together with? And as awesome as presents are, that’s not what this is about. It’s about Jesus. It’s all about Him. Nothing else can even hold a candle to Him, so why does everyone seem to lose the real meaning of Christmas? What happened to the warm, happy feeling of Christmas? Of peacefulness, just sitting around enjoying each others company and nostalgic Christmas music that we’ve all listened to every year since forever. I miss that feeling, how Christmas used to feel when we were kids, the seemingly magical feeling in the air? Where did that go? It seems the older I’ve gotten the more my family has forgotten that feeling and all we ever do is fight with each other. I would be fine with getting no presents if I could just have that feeling back. I miss it. I don’t think that this is the kind of way that Jesus wants us to celebrate His birthday, and that makes me sad. I know I’m guilty of it though too, getting to caught up in everything, I’ll be the first to admit that yesterday when I was shopping with my sister, there were words exchanged from all of us that I wish we could take back. I let my frustrations get the best of me sometimes I’m afraid. I need to remember too that Jesus is the reason for the season. The only reason. Nothing matters but Him.

“So they hurried off and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby, who was lying in the manger. When they had seen him, they spread the word concerning what had been told them about this child, and all who heard it were amazed at what the shepherds said to them. But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. The shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things they had heard and seen, which were just as they had been told.” – Luke 2:16- 20

Merry Christmas everybody!

In Christ,

Hope Kristen ♥

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About elvishjesusfreak

I'm learning to love and be and grow up and things are hard but God is always so good.

Leave a Reply

